We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, good food, average room”
Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views, good food, average room”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Mountain View Inn last weekend and was underwhelmed. It came recommended by a Mill Valley resident, and I booked a room for two nights because it was convenient to where I needed to be. The staff was pleasant, and the meals (dinner one night, breakfast the next day) were good. But the room was in dire need of repair. The hair dryer was broken, the housekeeper took away my shampoo and didn't leave a replacement, and the bathroom tile was cracked. At the end of the day, chairs were dragged over the floor above my room, creating a noise I could do nothing about. Mountain View Inn has been around a long time and many reviews cite the same complaints that I have. Still, the accommodations remain average while the rates remain high. I don't understand it. I wouldn't stay there again until reviewers report that these issues have been fixed.

Room Tip: I was in Room #4. The bed was comfortable, but when I sat outside on the deck, diners on the upper l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handcar, General Manager at Mountain Home Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
To Margaret Miller,
We are glad you were able to enjoy the food , the service and off course the view from your room deck.
At the same time, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced , as well.
We wish you had brought them to our attention, so we could have resolved at least some of them during your stay.

We are continuously working on upgrading and refreshing the Mountain Home Inn, and
room #4, the room you stayed in, is scheduled to be re-tiled at the end of spring.

For a more quiet and secluded experience we recommend staying with us from Monday-Thursday.
Especially the winter nights in a fireplace room can be a great writers environment.

Thank you for staying at the Mountain Home Inn, and please thank your friend for recommending our hotel as well.
We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are visiting from texas.
Thank you,
MHI Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I wanted to be able to hike in the morning and night so was looking for a convenient location for lodging. Mountain Home Inn is located in a great spot and the food (breakfast complimentary and also had prix fixe dinner there) was quite tasty. The service was friendly and the bathroom actually opened up to the room so you can enjoy the view. Note that there are no TVs and you could hear your neighbors pretty easily through the walls. The furniture could be upgraded to look more modern but it is what it is. Overall great experience and would definitely consider coming back next time I'm in the Bay area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a nearly 20-hour travel from Finland to California and five wonderful but hectic days in San Francisco, we thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful and comfortable stay at Mountain Home Inn, its beautiful views and fresh air. Unfortunately we had time only for one night, we'd love to return one day and stay for a bit longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaHs48800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mountain Home Inn many times. The cons are that it is needs updating/renovating and is a little tricky to get to (that drive up Mt Tam through the fog is a little frightening but worth it). The pros are: great food, incredible views and very cozy rooms some of which have fireplaces and patios. The Muir Woods natl forest is literally across the street with trailheads steps away. The southern part of the winecountry is a 50 minute drive and Stinson beach is around the corner. We will be there again this week and can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at Mountain Home with my wife during Presidents weekend. It was a great get a way. Only 1/2 north of San Francisco and a totally different world. We were in room #2 with a beautiful view of the bay and the fog. The location is very unique, right on Mt Tam and a 4.5 mile hike down into Muir Woods. There are great outdoor activities at the front door, hiking and mtn biking. The rooms are a little rustic (this is not the 4 seasons) with wood burning fireplaces and no TVs. We had the priced fixed dinner at Mtn Home which was wonderful. The salmon was delicious. And in the morning there is a complementary cooked to order breakfast. If you are looking for a special place to stay in Marin County, I would recommend Mtn Home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muniman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Mountain Home Inn and it couldn’t have been more perfect! We searched for a long time for a wedding venue, but really struggled to find the right combination of homey and sophisticated. The Mountain Home Inn ended up being the best possible fit and their event coordinator, Sarah Reed, made both the planning and the event itself incredibly smooth. As busy professionals, my wife and I really didn’t have a lot of time to attend to the details of our wedding, nor did we have the money for a wedding planner. Sarah really guided us through the process and helped us every step of the way, from recommending florists and photographers, and always making us feel at home. She actually made the process fun and convenient. Her creative ideas were really tailored to how we envisioned our wedding. Every time we came for a meeting we drank wonderful wine and beer and at our tasting all of the food was so delicious we had trouble deciding what to have at the wedding. On the day of the wedding, she handled many issues on the day of that could have derailed our event. She was so thoughtful – afterwards I heard from many friends and family about her attention to detail. We had a midnight snack and getting to spend the night at the venue and wake up to a fabulous brunch was the icing on the cake. We can’t say enough great things about our experience there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Mountain Home Inn is ideally located for hiking the beautiful area. The views from the hotel are lovely. THe hotel is rather old and in need of a good scrubbing and a facelift, but it is reasonably comfortable. We visited in January and were the only guests, yet the GM called us and asked if we meant to eat at the restaurant, and stayed open to serve us. The restaurant is very good, and a good value. The rooms are named after local trails. This is a hiker's paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runsailwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
6.4 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Property: Mountain Home Inn
Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing