We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tamalpais Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tamalpais Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

this is possibly the the worst motel in the world! The room was covered in urine and smelt that bad I had to sleep in my car. The bathroom was filthy, The toilet and shower were unusable and the sheets on the bed looked like they hadn't been changed in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BecM8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    10
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Read the trip advisor comments on this place while I was in the room. My room seemed to be fairly clean although very small. Did not meet any of the former occupants of the bed although had a good look. One of those places that you find and need in a hurry and then move on

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good points: previously reported bedbug problem apparently resolved. Good king size bed in room, relatively recent. Staff friendly enough, allowing inspection of room prior to letting, and forewarning of no ac.

Bad points: questionable stains and material on bathroom door frame and on painted walls next to sink says hygiene may still be an issue, but no hair in drains as previously reported. Overwhelming smell of bleach, which may be comforting to some. Room too small and no ac. Toilet seat loose. Door locks not up to standard.

Overall an ok last minute place to stay, with the cheapest price in the area, but would advise attempting to book elsewhere first.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krontab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mill Valley hotels

Huizen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Awfull motel. The highwaynoise makes you crazy, so we had to shut the frontdoor for a little bit less noise, but the smell in the room was very bad, so we had to keep the door a little bit open. The room was small, and we had hardly any space for putting our luggage. The bathroom was dirty. Hair from other people was on the floor. There was no soap, only some kind of lotion. The lady who helped us at the frontdesk was not very friendly. She was obviously in a hurry and helped us in about 1 minuut, speaking very quickly. She was from Inda and had an accent. Our native language is not English, so we had a problem with understanding her. She was not intending to repeat anything for us.
Don't go to this motel. Pay a little bit more for a better hotel or motel. This motel should be shut!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HuizenAnoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The lady who works at the front desk received extra training in the courteous, respectful, friendly manner in which she as our employee is to treat you, our valued guest.

• Management was approached about the possibility of setting up some sort of system whereby when there is a language problem the staff member or the guest could ask for another staff member to assist in making both parties understand what is being said.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our Family w/ 2 kids stayed here and brought the bedbugs back to our home afterwards. Now my bedbug-allergic wife has bites up and down her arms and legs; and we're plastic bagging and washing EVERYTHING to try to get rid of bedbugs from our home. I wished we had arrived earlier in the evening to see what a cesspool it was, but after our 9pm check-in, we didn't want to look around for a vacancy somewhere else on a holiday weekend......BIG MISTAKE!
If you HAVE TO stay here -keep your luggage in your car, or in the tile bathroom; and put everything that was inside the room in a black plastic garbage bag. That way if you leave it in your car in the sun it will heat to 120-degrees F for awhile and kill all the bedbugs. Otherwise you can wash it all in a HOT WATER wash.
Better yet..just STAY AWAY.....I'M NOT KIDDING!
-what a nightmare

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bedbugs in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to their extermination.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel, I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

When you plan a last minute trip the Bay Area over a holiday weekend and you're on a budget, please don't stay at the Tamalpais Motel like we did. First night's room had big stains on the floor, terrible mattresses, no side tables for one of the beds, though the bathroom had been updated, though not enough counter space or a soap dish in the shower. Second's night room featured a better mattress, but still stains on the carpet, weird green gunk inside of the ancient lampshades and hairs on the towels and sheets. Not-updated bathroom with a shower fixture that seemed to be missing a proper nozzle. AND one day later I am covered in large red welts traveling up my arms and legs. So spend $20 more bucks and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: ask for a better mattress and you better check for signs of bedbugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of possible bedbugs and instructed to look into the matter and to see to their elimination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. We take our guest reviews very seriously and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Filthy, disgusting and no air conditioning (though unmentioned in the amenities). Never, ever, stay at this dump. Ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StoicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was approached about the possibility of installing air conditioners in some of the rooms.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
0.3 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamalpais Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamalpais Motel

Property: Tamalpais Motel
Address: 680 Redwood Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamalpais Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tamalpais Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamalpais Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing