We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Tamalpais Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamalpais Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Huizen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Awfull motel. The highwaynoise makes you crazy, so we had to shut the frontdoor for a little bit less noise, but the smell in the room was very bad, so we had to keep the door a little bit open. The room was small, and we had hardly any space for putting our luggage. The bathroom was dirty. Hair from other people was on the floor. There was no soap, only some kind of lotion. The lady who helped us at the frontdesk was not very friendly. She was obviously in a hurry and helped us in about 1 minuut, speaking very quickly. She was from Inda and had an accent. Our native language is not English, so we had a problem with understanding her. She was not intending to repeat anything for us.
Don't go to this motel. Pay a little bit more for a better hotel or motel. This motel should be shut!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HuizenAnoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The lady who works at the front desk received extra training in the courteous, respectful, friendly manner in which she as our employee is to treat you, our valued guest.

• Management was approached about the possibility of setting up some sort of system whereby when there is a language problem the staff member or the guest could ask for another staff member to assist in making both parties understand what is being said.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
10
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our Family w/ 2 kids stayed here and brought the bedbugs back to our home afterwards. Now my bedbug-allergic wife has bites up and down her arms and legs; and we're plastic bagging and washing EVERYTHING to try to get rid of bedbugs from our home. I wished we had arrived earlier in the evening to see what a cesspool it was, but after our 9pm check-in, we didn't want to look around for a vacancy somewhere else on a holiday weekend......BIG MISTAKE!
If you HAVE TO stay here -keep your luggage in your car, or in the tile bathroom; and put everything that was inside the room in a black plastic garbage bag. That way if you leave it in your car in the sun it will heat to 120-degrees F for awhile and kill all the bedbugs. Otherwise you can wash it all in a HOT WATER wash.
Better yet..just STAY AWAY.....I'M NOT KIDDING!
-what a nightmare

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bedbugs in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to their extermination.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel, I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mill Valley hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

When you plan a last minute trip the Bay Area over a holiday weekend and you're on a budget, please don't stay at the Tamalpais Motel like we did. First night's room had big stains on the floor, terrible mattresses, no side tables for one of the beds, though the bathroom had been updated, though not enough counter space or a soap dish in the shower. Second's night room featured a better mattress, but still stains on the carpet, weird green gunk inside of the ancient lampshades and hairs on the towels and sheets. Not-updated bathroom with a shower fixture that seemed to be missing a proper nozzle. AND one day later I am covered in large red welts traveling up my arms and legs. So spend $20 more bucks and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: ask for a better mattress and you better check for signs of bedbugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of possible bedbugs and instructed to look into the matter and to see to their elimination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. We take our guest reviews very seriously and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Filthy, disgusting and no air conditioning (though unmentioned in the amenities). Never, ever, stay at this dump. Ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StoicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was approached about the possibility of installing air conditioners in some of the rooms.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This motel resembled what I could only have imagined seeing in a horror movie. When we arrived it was late and were happy (at the time) to have just found a place to stay. The room’s door had been kicked in and patched back together so it would still closed. On the walls was dried spit and the carpets were filthy dirty. We propped a chair against the door, slept in our clothes on top of the bed, and left as soon as the sun came up.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestdaysofourlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was notified of the condition of the door in the room assigned to you and instructed to repair it properly.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

cheap and handy location to all holiday attractions, good central location. Staff friendly, room serviced everyday , very clean. Not a place to live in but to base yourself just for sleeping and taking off each day for activities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Tired from an all day road trip, my father and I checked into The Tamalpais Motel for the evening. While my father turned in for the night straight away, I stayed up a little later to watch some television. I was sitting on the bed and happened to notice a bug crawling up my arm. I recognized it as a bed bug and woke my dad straight away. We gathered our belongings and went to the front desk. The woman at the desk did not seem surprised by our experience and only asked how many we saw. We were refunded our money and checked into the motel across the street (which wasn't much cleaner but didn't have bed bugs.)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamalpaisMotel, Webmaster at Tamalpais Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tamalpais Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was notified of the report of bed bugs and instructed to see to their extermination.

2) Housekeeping staff received further training concerning the level of cleanliness which they are required to maintain as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Tamalpais Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
0.3 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
545 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,410 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamalpais Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamalpais Motel

Property: Tamalpais Motel
Address: 680 Redwood Hwy Frontage Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3006
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamalpais Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamalpais Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamalpais Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing