We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner”
Review of Piatti

Piatti
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 7/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 114 Restaurants in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Seminary Drive
Transit: Golden Gate Transit - Seminary Drive
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Great place to stop for Italian food. We had the the braised short ribs with creamy polenta and the mushroom risotto. The mushroom Risotto was fantastic but salty. The braised short ribs were the best very tender and would melt in your mouth. The polenta that came with the short ribs was ok. I’ve had better so was disappointed there. However again the food was really salty. Service was great Jose A. was our waiter and was always there right when we needed something or was already bringing us something. I’ve eaten here before and the food has been better but I will be back. Enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank kevh938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2018

A perfect location for an annual brunch with friends from the East Bay and Southern California. Window table, overlooking the water, with an incomparable view of Mt. Tam. Our excellent waiter, Sergio, attended to us and was consistently friendly, filling any request.

Three of us had wine, $8 a glass. Our glasses were 1/3 full. Next time, we'll get a 1/2 bottle to share for $16. We arrived at 11:30. It was peacefully quiet. We could have lingered longer, but by 1:30, all tables were full, which made it impossible to hear conversation.

Overall, our experience was top notch!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Everything we ordered was delicious: from the appetizers to the pastas and pizzas. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kazuzu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

A friend recommended the Garlic Prawns on ciabatta. Wonderful! The sauce was so good we sopped it up with the warm bread we were served.

I ordered the Spinach-Ricotta Ravioli, my wife, the Squash Blossoms Pizza. We both loved our dishes. The ravioli had a rich white sauce with lemon and parmesan.

Having just returned from Italy, we were keen to compare the pizza to our favorite from Naples. We watched the chef putting pizza into the wood-fired oven, and liked watching him work. The pizza was first rate, though slightly charred (our waiter mentioned that and offered to get it replaced, we said it was fine).

For dessert, we ordered the special, a pumpkin bread pudding with vanilla gelato and salted caramel sauce. Outstanding! We're glad we ordered it instead of our usual chocolate choice. The vanilla helped smooth out the dish, and the sauce was excellent. We didn't really taste much pumpkin, though, and wouldn't have known there was pumpkin in it if it wasn't in the name. Still, a lovely end to our meal.

A few missteps, all on the service end:

The waiter seemed a bit pushy when he realized we weren't ordering drinks, or even salads. We knew how much food we wanted, and he seemed very slightly put out when we weren't going for more.

We also noticed there were two prices for both the pizza and the ravioli, we assumed for different sized portions. After we ordered, we realized that the waiter didn't ask us about the sizes we wanted. When we asked him afterwards, he said he assumed that since we hadn't ordered a salad, he put in the order for the larger sizes. I think it would have been for him to have asked if we didn't specify.

Finally, someone (not our waiter) asked us if we wanted to take home the other half of the pizza (see! we knew how much food we'd eat!). We said, "Yes!". He whisked it away, and that was the last we saw of it. When we asked our waiter, he searched for it, and when he couldn't find it, had the chef make us a new small one. Nice save!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidBFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Delicious. Excellent attention to detail with a beautiful, contemporary style. I highly recommend this restaurant for both a high-end experience and/or a more casual dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatti also viewed

 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to Piatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing