We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone Downhill A Bit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Piatti

Piatti
Reserve with OpenTable
Piatti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Seminary Drive
Transit: Golden Gate Transit - Seminary Drive
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill A Bit”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Still good food at a reasonable price but not quite as good as in the past.
Reasonable selection of tempting offerings but portion size seems smaller than heretofore.
Preasing views if one sits near the picture window.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    80
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mill valley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hours - Great spot”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

As locals love the happy hour and the view. Fun atmosphere and good food. The service is good and they have a great staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benderlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Probably the best Italian in South Marin....”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

5 stars to counter the less stellar reviews, as this place is a gem. The brunch is a classic affair with plenty of options, with views of a tranquil pond/lagoon. Awesome, professional service that was friendly but not too inquisitive. We came late, and it does seem they serve brunch quite late... which is good for those couples that like to celebrate the morning in their own way, in their own time. =)

My benedict was awesome, they didn't hesitate when I asked to sub fries for potatoes... I know I know. Not so healthy. But it's a benedict. come on. The fruit plate was divine... all beauitfully arranged in season fruit. My wifes scrambled eggs and polenta was excellent.

I always order a wee bit too much when I try a new place... their cup of the minestrone was delicious, traditional -- fantastic.

Their lunch / dinner menus looked incredible as well, so it's assured we'll be back multiple times for both brunch and dinner.

Also... excellent bar. One of the best bloody mary's I have had in awhile. Actually two of the best, and the mimosa was obviously fresh OJ.

Afterwards, we took a hike around Richardson Bay and ended up doing a 6 mile adventure.... so don't hesitate to load up at brunch, because the bay trail is right out the back door and you can work it off.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ambience, service, good food and a family of racoons!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Okay, first: the rasher of raccoons were seen well after dark, peering into a ground-level door-window, 3 or 4 juveniles and a couple larger ones, just stopping to smell and see the hustle-bustle of the dining room, then scurrying off before being seen (except by me and my wife). Waitstaffers were amazed to hear of it, so maybe it's not a nightly occurrence, but pretty cool anyway!

We'd stopped in around 10-ish pm after a very tough day for a late bite, we shared a steak tartare and a green salad, both delicious, and a nice bottle of the house label red, all just perfect. The waitstaff were attentive, pleasant and not cloying, the bubble of sound was very soothing, the lighting and seating were all warm and comfy, and of course there were plenty of people there in all manners of formal and informal dress, all seeming to have fun.

So if you go in the later evening, keep an eye on the dining room rear (emergency exit?) door, you might see some raccoons, if you aren't too busy digging in to the great food on your plate or the pretty people all around!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfertig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fun to get a table at the windows to have a view of the water. The service is good here. Food is typical Italian and has always been consistently good (not great). There is a nice bar area as well. Recommend reservations for weekend nights.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank HB1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatti also viewed

Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Been to Piatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing