We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring me the chips please”

Joe's Taco Lounge & Salsaria
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bring me the chips please”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great atmosphere and good food. I particularly like the fish tacos. The one drawback for me is that you have to pay for a little bowl of chips and then flag down the busy waiter for more salsa. Guess I'm spoiled but I would rather they raised their price a bit and just brought chips gratis.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best Little Spot in Mill Valley”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can't go wrong for any meal here. Although it's Mexican, even if you felt like pizza or a burger , that too is so delicious here. It's quirky small space makes it especially charming. Watch out for the weekend crowds passing through on their way back from Muir Woods.
The Tacos are amazing as is the Tofu Tostada! You never would imagine how delicious!
They also have Sangria, Wine, Margaritas, Beers by the Bucket but try a Lava Soda! This is the UBER LOCAL SPOT.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LH Davis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Part of every business trip”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

When I visit SF/Mill Valley for business I always try to work in at least one night and visit this place. The place is small, but always busy, and for a foreigner like myself it all looks very realistic.

The food is pretty good and depending of your choice the portions are also decently sized and it is not expensive at all. You can have a full meal with a drink and be done for around 10-15 bucks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricJanvanPutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love the fish tacos”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Love the fish tacos at Joe's Taco Lounge and Salsaria.

Great after a hike in the hills. This is one of our go to places in Mill Valley.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jason745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We Even Bought The T-Shirts...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Walk in, you feel like it could be a friend's kitchen. Yes, large selection of tacos-- and the specials, and salsas, and pizza, etc., etc. This cantina is an icon that has a large and loyal local following.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Taco Lounge & Salsaria also viewed

Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Been to Joe's Taco Lounge & Salsaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing