We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a great place”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

For $225.00 a night it was not worth it. It is in Marin county so you expect the price to be high but the bath and shower barely worked. There were ants in the bathroom. The heat didn't work.
No coffee machine in the room. They did bring me a pair of pliers to fix the shower myself. No café or fitness center. There is a Holiday Inn Express across the street. I think next time I will stay there. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    31
    21
    35
See reviews for
32
46
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The area did not look safe. The doors did not lock properly and there were ants in the bathroom. For the price, it was not worth it.
I have now come to believe it is better for single women to choose reputable hotels than Inns or motels. These Inns are not that much cheaper anyway. So it makes no sense to be looking over one's shoulder for one night stays.
The room was so far from the reception, no one will hear you if anything g happened. The parking lot was not well lit either.
The room itself looked like a small studio apartment without kitchenette. There was a mini fridge, microwave and a table with chairs. Paint chipped off in the closet.
The towels smelled quite like bleach.
Overall, I was grateful I had a place to sleep but could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Its a motel located along the main road, so do expect there will be traffic noise in early morning and late evening ( but bearable). Rooms are clean and neat. Got coffee machine and coffee in room. Inclusive of breakfast, got banana, coffee, cereal, and packaged danish. Free wifi and parking.

Toilet are clean, only draw back is the towel looks worn out. Other than that everything is fine.

Room Tip: If you got lots of baggage, better choose a room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wanted to stay close to SF without the high cost of a room and having to pay for parking in addition. This was close and convenient. We spent little time in the room and found the shopping in the area convenient

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Libbiesgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I arrived I immedatly felt unsafe. Lots of people were hanging around outside. The keys for my room did not work properly as the door had been forced. I was scared to sleep there so I decided to sleep at the Holiday Inn Express that is located right accross the road...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barralm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mill Valley hotels

Gilroy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This property receives a 1 only because they did have clean sheets. The room looked like there had been a major fight in the room. The safety lock was off the back door. No lock on the window. The grill on the heater looked like a piece of free-form art. Because the place is old I can understand the musty smell but it was bad. We should have walked out the door. Americas Best Value Inn definitely was not a good value in the long run.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
0.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 155 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3638
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Mill Valley
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing