We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent end to a day at Muir Woods”
Review of Buckeye Roadhouse

Buckeye Roadhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Buckeye Roadhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stinson Beach exit off Hwy 101
Transit: Manzanita bus stop
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent end to a day at Muir Woods”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stopped by here after spending a couple hours hiking in Muir Woods. The food was excellent, including some interesting drink creations (cucumber!) and a special of pulled pork. A great way to relax with good food, attentive service, and good atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    120
    37
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“On the way home to Napa”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a great stop on the way home from a San Francisco theater matinee. Buckeye is now my go-to spot for after a day or afternoon in "the City." Our dinner tonight was perfect--well, the food, anyway. For two couples, we tried three different entrees and three different salads. Each was excellent. The women shared both salad and entrée--and we had plenty to eat; half a Bolinas salad and an English snap pea lasagne (fontina, mushrooms, leeks, smoked tomato sauce) which looked gorgeous, was delicious, and filled us both up. The men had Caesar and a wedge salads and the smoked beef brisket and a beef filet, respectively. Everything was delicious.

We called after the theater to make reservations and were glad we did. We got there about 5:45--it took us 45 minutes from Civic Center in light traffic.

Not without a caveat or two: the service was indifferent. We had some, but it certainly was not over-solicitous. The waiter did not bring a requested oil and vinegar cruet and made an effort with all his tables to avoid eye contact with anyone at any table. We had to ask for bread twice. Food came quickly, but we did not feel hurried--instead, just a bit extraneous.

The location is very convenient, perhaps two minutes off the highway, so perfect for the trip home from an event. They have complimentary valet service for what would be otherwise difficult parking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always wonderful - never disappoints”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Buckeye has been a family favorite for many, many years. The crispy onion rings with house made ketchup are a must have. Incredibly thin, individual rings are delicately battered and fried to perfection. The house made ketchup packs a little heat. From the smokehouse, the ribs are succulent and never disappoint. My son enjoyed these for perhaps the 100th time.

On a recent visit, I ordered entirely off the evening's specials. My cocktail was Hendrick's gin with a peach shrub, infused with fresh thyme - yum. The seafood special featured perfectly prepared cod. Service was friendly and attentive. Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Way overrated. Nice building, everything else is average, or less”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently went for dinner with six people. We felt rushed and pushed by the wait staff. Forgot water for the table after being asked, never served bread. Our waitress forgot one of the appetizers, and then tried to bring it at the same time as our dinners. The food was "passable" but nothing very special. The fish special was supposedly fresh, but was clearly frozen, dry, and poorly cooked. Some of the dinners were ok, but we kept having to look for our waitress. At these prices, it should have been a much better meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“I left hungry, WHY ???”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a very nice old roadhouse restaurant in the bay area. Our drinks and food were excellent. I have to have gluten free meals so we have to skip the bread. I ordered the scallops with polenta. It had 4 scallops and an ice cream scoop of polenta, nothing else. All restaurants serve a dish with protein, starch, and veggies but not here. My wife had sole on a bed spinach, nothing else. I finished my plate with 10 bites. Now at $23 I should expect to have a meal that will satisfy me without have to go home and eat something else. My wife had to do the same thing. Food was very good, drinks very good, and the restaurant is very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldblueeyes9217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckeye Roadhouse also viewed

Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Buckeye Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing