We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pizza - Very High Price”
Review of TamalPie Pizza

TamalPie Pizza
Ranked #39 of 99 Restaurants in Mill Valley
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average pizza - Very High Price”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stopped in to give this new reastaurant a try. Serve was okay and the pizza was fine--not great but fine. But the cost was high -higher than other local options including the expensive reautrauants in downtown Mill Valley.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wanderingways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I came here with my daughter to grab some pizza after hearing from locals how delicious it was. The atmosphere is "Marin" casual and the staff is friendly. We ordered a simple Margarhita pie and a salad. I loved the crispy semi-burnt crust and simple flavors of sauce, mozzarella, and basil. When in Mill Valley, this is my go to place for pizza.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OceanView_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, great service...a little pricey”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Pros: good selection of pizza; tasty pies and salad; great server
Cons: a little pricey...paid over $100 for two pies, two glasses of wine, one beer and a small salad
Date of visit: 14 Aug 2012

Helpful?
Thank Priffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice enough atmosphere but a bit pricey even for 'gourmet' pizza”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've tried TamalPie twice now. Once when they first opened and were a little overwhelmed, which was understandable--especially considering how lots of us locals tend to expect high levels of service. The second time just the other day. While I liked the gourmet style pizzas I really didn't like paying over $110 for two pizzas, two glasses of wine and one dessert. Especially when I can get similar meals at other places in town but for half the cost. I hope the owners are paying attention because I really like for local businesses to stay afloat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first nite a big success”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

we went on opening nite (by chance)...they were jammed but we still had great service and fantastic food...i would encourage bringing your kids...sit in the lounge couches in the back...great environment

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TamalPie Pizza also viewed

Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Been to TamalPie Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing