We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as it gets”

Mount Tamalpais State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Mount Tamalpais Views and Redwoods Hike
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful state park north of San Francisco.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good as it gets”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Such natural beauty so close to an urban area, San Francisco, is difficult to comprehend. Mt Tam has it all...streams, forests, meadows, wildflowers all intersected by numerous trails. Picnicing and water available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunfl0wer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    56
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an awesome experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Mt Tamalpais on recommendation that this would be less crowded to see the Redwoods than alternative. It did not disappoint as the hiking was through the woods down and up the mountain with meadows where the clouds were flowing through like smoke. The air was 55 degrees and felt great. Trees were tremendous and the trails were not crowded. Overall simply a great time in the outdoors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice long hike”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was one of the nicest trail that we went on in California. It was a quite long hike and at times we had to rest to catch our breath, but the view of the hills against the foggy sky with the ocean below is amazing! The trail also goes through woods with small river. Lots of picture opportunity. I personally enjoyed the Steep Ravine trail that we took going up better than the Matt Davis trail that we took going down. We found lots of poison oak on Matt Davis trail and i did not enjoy that at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fionanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From Bootjack, ran down the Matt Davis Trail to Stinson Beach -- awesome panoramas of the Marin Headlands and Stinson, thru old-growth redwoods.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lalhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
782 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Great views, windy road getting there.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The birth place of mountain biking! We couldn't believe how many bikers we saw while winding our way up to Mount Tamalpais. The roads are so crazy I can't even imagine riding a bicycle on them.

We walked the short paved trail that goes around the entire thing. You get great views of every direction, it doesn't take very long & it's an easy walk.

We were shocked how few people were there. It's so close to San Francisco & Muir Woods & you get such great views. So many people are missing out.

Make sure to bring cash because you have to pay to park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Tamalpais State Park also viewed

 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Mount Tamalpais State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing