We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“"Home Away From Home" Update” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Home Away From Home" Update”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently returned to the Mill Valley Inn. As I've already reviewed this hotel (April 2012), there's no need to repeat myself. It's still our favorite hotel, but now it's even better. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted by a brandy new Duxiana mattress and the next morning, an improved breakfast area. Justin (General Manager), Paul (still amazing desk manager), Ivanka and all staff members always aim to please. We couldn't ask for a more inviting and wonderful hotel experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RLIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    69
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
139
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here while in town for a friend's wedding. The location was great, the price was reasonable and the staff was very friendly. They offer breakfast in the morning and wine in cheese in the afternoon. It is not a big fancy over the the top hotel but the room was cozy and all in all we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinghillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitor from southern california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The online pictures of the Mill Valley Inn appealed to me as a special treat and the reality did not disappoint! We stayed in one of the rooms in the back building with big double-hung windows, and a lovely covered porch with chairs overlooking redwoods and a stream (as well as a small parking lot where my husband could see our car, which he appreciated). The room itself felt like we were staying in a lovely home rather than a hotel - nice art on the walls and unique furniture rather than items stamped out by the thousands somewhere in a factory. We were in the area to visit our grown kids and it was a wonderful place to gather. We enjoyed the complementary wine and snacks the Inn offered, and chatted with a nice couple visiting from back east. We then walked just two short blocks downtown for a delicious Italian dinner. The next day we wandered around the shops and found a great lunch at the bookstore/sandwich shop. A gorgeous redwood grove was just up the street, and we could see part of the historic local mill from which Mill Valley gets it's name. Everything was convenient, clean, and comfortable. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room in the charming back building required climbing a steep flight of stairs. If you need easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethedrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was big and well-appointed, as was the bathroom. The service was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was pleasant, and the town is awesomely walkable.

My only gripe is that the ceilings/floors are like paper. Our room was positioned below the breakfast room and we could hear every footstep, beginning at around 6 am.

If you're a light sleeper, this is a dealbreaker. If not, enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Try to get the highest possible room because you can hear every single footstep above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've stayed at this spot several times when I'm passing through the bay area, and it really doesn't get better than this. The town of Mill Valley itself is the ultimate getaway. Its small, cute, and has some really nice restaurants.
This hotel is exactly what the title of my reviews says. Its not very big, the rooms are beautiful, the location is decent, the housekeeping is very good, and I really like the breakfast.
All in all, as far as I'm concerned there is no better place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miaminumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved Mill Valley Inn. A terrific hotel nestled among the redwoods in the heart of Mill Valley, close to the park (free Shakespeare every Labor Day!). And a terrific breakfast. Bikes to borrow, too

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was right, great place, deluxe king room, very spacious, huge bathroom. only negative was noise possibly from people going up/down stairs, but it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay again. Continental breakfast, staff very friendly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxtoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Property: Mill Valley Inn
Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing