We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in a Quaint Little Town”
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here while in town for a friend's wedding. The location was great, the price was reasonable and the staff was very friendly. They offer breakfast in the morning and wine in cheese in the afternoon. It is not a big fancy over the the top hotel but the room was cozy and all in all we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelinghillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Mill Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 333 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The online pictures of the Mill Valley Inn appealed to me as a special treat and the reality did not disappoint! We stayed in one of the rooms in the back building with big double-hung windows, and a lovely covered porch with chairs overlooking redwoods and a stream (as well as a small parking lot where my husband could see our car, which he appreciated). The room itself felt like we were staying in a lovely home rather than a hotel - nice art on the walls and unique furniture rather than items stamped out by the thousands somewhere in a factory. We were in the area to visit our grown kids and it was a wonderful place to gather. We enjoyed the complementary wine and snacks the Inn offered, and chatted with a nice couple visiting from back east. We then walked just two short blocks downtown for a delicious Italian dinner. The next day we wandered around the shops and found a great lunch at the bookstore/sandwich shop. A gorgeous redwood grove was just up the street, and we could see part of the historic local mill from which Mill Valley gets it's name. Everything was convenient, clean, and comfortable. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room in the charming back building required climbing a steep flight of stairs. If you need easi...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethedrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was big and well-appointed, as was the bathroom. The service was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was pleasant, and the town is awesomely walkable.

My only gripe is that the ceilings/floors are like paper. Our room was positioned below the breakfast room and we could hear every footstep, beginning at around 6 am.

If you're a light sleeper, this is a dealbreaker. If not, enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Try to get the highest possible room because you can hear every single footstep above you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've stayed at this spot several times when I'm passing through the bay area, and it really doesn't get better than this. The town of Mill Valley itself is the ultimate getaway. Its small, cute, and has some really nice restaurants.
This hotel is exactly what the title of my reviews says. Its not very big, the rooms are beautiful, the location is decent, the housekeeping is very good, and I really like the breakfast.
All in all, as far as I'm concerned there is no better place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miaminumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved Mill Valley Inn. A terrific hotel nestled among the redwoods in the heart of Mill Valley, close to the park (free Shakespeare every Labor Day!). And a terrific breakfast. Bikes to borrow, too

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was right, great place, deluxe king room, very spacious, huge bathroom. only negative was noise possibly from people going up/down stairs, but it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay again. Continental breakfast, staff very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TxtoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
468 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: $254 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing