We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Suites Hotel(Corte Madera)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Hotel(San Rafael)
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
234
88
17
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
88
17
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood treeswine and cheeseloxsmoked salmonmuir woodsmain buildingmiddle of towncontinental breakfastquichemake your own wafflesbalcony overlookingmusic hallfrench doorsfacing the streetsmall creekwithin walking distancetop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent little hotel with sizable rooms and a fantastic breakfast setting. My family stayed for 2 nights during a long trip through northern california and got a great rate last minute. We stumbled on this place and definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mill Valley Inn for two nights in early August. The location was perfect and this was absolutely our favorite place during our weeklong trip to Northern CA. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and gave us both outdoor activity and dinner recommendations. The Inn is a short (less than 2 miles) walk to some of the trails on Mt. Tam, and a 15 minute drive to Muir Woods. Downtown Mill Valley is just around the corner from the Inn and there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We took full advantage of the complimentary Trek Bikes, there's a bike path we could take to Sausalito, and Corte Madera (other places too). The bikes were in great condition and even had helmets and locks we could borrow. The bed was very comfortable and our room had a view of some Redwoods. We used the fireplace at night, not necessarily because it was freezing, but because we had one...and they gave us as much firewood as we wanted. After our days full of outdoor activities, I took full advantage of the huge bathtub and Aveda products. You can even see the TV from the bathtub. It was sooooooo relaxing and comfortable there. The wine and cheese hour was far above average, and so was the breakfast. The lattes were a nice touch. In hindsight, we wished we would have stayed in Mill Valley longer.

Room Tip: Room 12 was comfortable and had a king bed and a huge bathtub.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We picked Mill Valley Inn based on reviews and were glad to find that the property lived up to the raves. We only got to stay one night and we booked online at their second lowest rate, but we were treated like royalty. I've stayed at the Windsor Court in New Orleans in a suite and was not treated as well as I was at Mill Valley Inn (- that's not a dig at Windsor Court, that's just how exemplary the service was at Mill Valley Inn.) Everyone who worked there went out of their way to make sure we had everything we could want, and then some. We ended up with a room on the top floor overlooking the redwoods - I will come back here just to wake up in the trees again. We sat on the balcony at sunset and breakfast and it is so peaceful. The bath was huge and nice with great Aveda products. The room was spacious and comfortable with French doors opening onto a balcony - just fantastic. I liked the chaise lounge by the balcony. The bed was a brand new Duxana. I don't think anyone would be unhappy here. We also saw there were little cottages right under the redwoods, and may want to stay in one of those next time.

We also really enjoyed the food - they had a cheese and wine happy hour and we REALLY liked the waffles and cappucino for breakfast. We had dinner at a lovely Italian restaurant near the hotel that was really nice and romantic. I love the little town with all the great shops - we had a great time just walking around and popping into places. This is the perfect place to stay if you want to go to Muir Woods, but we also are considering staying here next time we go to San Francisco because it's so convenient and also a nice peaceful change from being in the city.

I highly recommend Mill Valley Inn to everyone - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We can't say enough about the King rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking the redwoods. It's like being in a luxiurious treehouse and the balconies are wonderful for breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed and the Mill Valley Inn for 2 nights for our anniversary. The hotel itself is very lovely; the location is fantastic. The back of the hotel sits in the middle of a small redwood grove. Particularly if you stay in the Creekside Building(s) as a opposed to the main hotel, your patio may very well look right into the redwoods. There is a great outdoor flight of stairs that takes you up into one of Mill Valley's interesting footpaths. If you meander one direction on the hotel's street, Throckmorton, you will walk right by the Old Mill Park, again surrounded by redwoods, or you can continue onward and access some trails. If you head the other direction, a whole host of shops and restaurants, cafes, bars and cinemas are just steps away. If you'd like to be close to some quaint downtown action but also feel like you are in the woods, this is a good choice. You are also just a 15-20 minute drive from the Muir Woods and countless hiking trails. Our King room in the creekside building was just right. Very spacious and comfy. It was nice to have continental breakfast on site, though I will warn that the breakfast is just that -- continental, and not too much to write home about. Still, there are yummy lox and do-it-yourself waffles, plus fancy coffee drinks to order. All-in-all, if you want to stay somewhere woodsy with character and close to everything, this is a great spot for a getaway!

Room Tip: Creekside building. Ask for a room with a view of the redwoods!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A lovely, quaint but well-equipped inn, very family friendly, in the center of charming Mill Valley, CA while still among the trees. Easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants, cafes and beautiful hiking trails. Easy drive into SF. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended for a charming and relaxing, not yet remote, getaway. We stayed a week and commuted frequently into the city (SF) for urban stuff. And complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese; also bikes!

Room Tip: Staff Julie, Paul, John and Emilio were all terrific. Emilio even made me a Cappuccino each AM. Request a West facing room with a balcony if you like sun. Other rooms (off street) are quieter, but we loved the sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews