We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOt A VERY WALM WELCOME IN WALES”
Review of Brecon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brecon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Penarth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had written to the owners to enquire into booking a room for November 2013. I had a look on the website - availability was OK - price listed was £69 for the room per night. I replied to the owner Anthony to explain that I would be travelling from the North with my wife to go to the Wales v Argentina rugby match that weekend, also to confirm the price and to go ahead with the booking. The owner wrote back to say that unfortunately he had quoted an inaccurate price for the International Series of matches being due to a late date change of date by the organisers in Cardiff. The correct price being £89 per night for 2 persons inclusive of a Full Breakfast.. I couldn't believe the audacity of the owner. So please beware. This certainly feels like rip off Britain! - the price quoted on the Brecon Lodge website certainly in this instance isn't as listed - the correct price is whatever the owner feels they can charge.
We keep a welcome in the hillside? As a Welsh person it has left a very bitter taste in the mouth. Not a very Warm Welsh Welcome.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank SJP766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Brecon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was wonderful. The breakfast was great and the owners were friendly. The only reason I didn't give them 5/5 is because the ceiling was a little low for the monkstone room. It's really easy to get into Cardiff by bus, we really wish we had spent more time here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lackita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was made to feel very welcome here.
My room overlooked the park, with the sea peeking through the trees.
A peaceful location that made it easy to have a relaxing weekend.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast with excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsteaandcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have a business in Penarth and work with foreign delegates from all over Europe. Each year we receive many delegates and always accommodate them with Gaynor and Anthony. They all comment on how happy they are in the Bed and Breakfast and all delegates who have visited in previous years return to Brecon lodge year after year as their preferred accommodation. There cannot be a better recommendation than this.

This has to be the friendliest B & B around, all delegates comment on the wonderful Kindness of Gaynor and Anthony and the smashing breakfasts. Gaynor will cook anything requested by her customers fresh to order.Nothing is to much trouble for the owners and it is clear to see they love their job.

Thank you both for hosting my delegates and keeping them all happy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesLeonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The PRO'S of THE BREACON LODGE B&B - 3 nights for the price of 2 deal! £59 pn, good breakfast, quiet area, friendly hosts, free parking (in street) nice walks nearby.
The CONS, the 'balmoral' room is on ground floor by entrance, a sensor alarm goes off everytime the door opened! Because of the large Victorian windows the room was cold, we had to ask for the heating to be put on, 2 uncomfortable spring beds, depressing décor, own toilet/bathroom but was up a flight of stairs, internet advertised but when trying to connect to their wifi said LIMITED ACCESS and wouldn't connect for the 3 days we were there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermaster, Owner at Brecon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We were very pleased that you liked the area in which Brecon Lodge is situated, and also took advantage of our very generous 3 nights for offer which was worth around £70, which is much envied by our local competitors.

It is true that the heating was OFF in the middle of June in High Summer, but that is quite usual in every other place we visit, and certainly in public buildings etc. However, we did give you a portable heater which would have been quite adequate in June to keep you warm.

The wi-fi experience was just a blip and easily sorted out with the touch of a button if we had been asked. We do, of course, offer FREE wi-Fi, unlike many Cardiff hotels who charge large sums.

Our rooms are accurately described on our website and booking engine, and we are always ready to give fuller details if guests are proposing to stay.

The Balmoral Room is a firm favourite with scores of our guests, and we receive numerous compliments on its position and outlook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at Brecon Lodge for one night whilst visiting family in the area. It is in a very quiet residential terrace in Penarth. The welcome from Gaynor and Anthony was warm and friendly. The "Monkstone" Room, at the top of the house, was nicely decorated, very well equipped and comfortable. It had a spacious en-suite bathroom and a door to a very small balcony - just wide enough to stand on and appreciate the view of the sea over the treetops. Although the house has free wifi, it was not in range of this particular room. Breakfast, served at a communal table was generous and prepared to order with a wide selection of traditional items, both hot and cold.
In using this B&B you feel like welcome guests to a house party. Your hosts are very knowledgeable about the local area and appear willing to "go the extra mile". I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_C101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent a few nights at this lovely B & B in Penarth, Wales. I can highly recommend it! My two hosts, Antony and Gaynor, were very welcoming and looked after me very well. My room at the top of the house (careful - 3 flights of stairs) was very attractively set up, beautiful bathroom - fruit, water, plus the usual tea, coffee etc - with fresh milk. The walk up the stairs was worth it - I had a view from the french doors over the Bristol Channel. Opposite a lovely park and easy access to the promenade. And the bed was sooooo comfortable!

Room Tip: iRooms in the front of the house have the views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.9 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Penarth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,853 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brecon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brecon Lodge

Address: 6 Kymin Terrace | Penarth, CARDIFF., Penarth CF64 1WW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Penarth
Price Range: $106 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brecon Lodge B&B is a delightful Victorian residence, built 1877, and located in a heritage area, opposite parkland, 15 minutes from the City Centre. The seafront, Pier and cliff walk are close by with excellent public transport to the city's top attractions. Brecon Lodge has two En-suite rooms, and one with Private Bathroom. Full Welsh Breakfast included. Tourist Board 4 Star rating. We aim to offer a true "Welsh Welcome" to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brecon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brecon Lodge Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing