We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and comfatable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alandale Guesthouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alandale Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Penarth B&B and Inns
northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“friendly and comfatable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

me and my friend booked a fishing trip and stayed here the room was more than comfatable with everything you need in a stay. the b and b owner made us sandwichs and a bag of crisps each for our early start the next day. it locatedv near the town centre and within a mile of the marina. the beds had all clean linen and tea and coffee was avaliable . only thing was the carpet was worn and a little grubby but thats it dont let this put you off a lovely stay thanks for all you did will be back

Room Tip: pick a room with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westhammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Clean room,friendly staff,good breakfast ,Very well situated to get to Cardiff,5 mins walk from train station.
Only gripe,the heating pipes rattle a bit but not all the time and we slept good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We attended the U2 concern in Cardiff and could not find any B & B in Cardiff so booked this one in Penarth. Yes the decor is dated and in need of an update, this I can put up with but the bathroom in our room was not clean. There was black stains around the shower tray and limescale on the shower head. I will say that the sheets were clean and the towels also, so that was good news. The breakfast was good but a little greasy for my liking. The owners are nice people and friendly, but I would not stay here again and would not of stayed if I could have found somewhere else free during such a busy time. Location wise you could not want better, just around from the train station and a local on the corner was fab. Give it a good clean and it would be a great B & B.......

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longlegs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penarth hotels

Sale
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

If you like your bedroom to come with stained suspended office cielings, mould all over the tiny bathroom and covered in dust (it even seemed to be inside the bed clothes), then this is the place for you. And as for the breakfast, forget swimming in grease, it was drowned in it.The location is great, and Penarth lovely, but this hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in. Didn't expect the world, but as we had booked it through tourinst information, we expected a basic standard, at least clean, but alas no. It made my skin crawl, and I work in a hospital, so I am far from squeemish.Tried to move but everywhere else was booked up - a telling sign that they were nowhere near full when everywhere else around Cardiff bay was. Avoid this hotel unless you are being chased by a hit man and this is the only place he won't find you. Please be aware that the German reviewer looks like he was reviewing the Alandale in pembrookeshire, which incedently looks quite nice.

  • Liked — Penarth (i.e. nothing)
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarkyBoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

There are not many places to stay in Penarth and the nice ones get booked up in advance but this one is better than the Glendale (which I have stayed in previously - avoid if you can but the food is great!) The Alandale is well located for the train station, being only a couple minutes walk away to get the train into Cardiff. The B&B is clean and the decor is dated. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper as the contractors that stay here get up at 6 and walk non too quietly down the stairs!! The walls seem to be thinner than a wafer-thin mint!
In summary - I would stay here again but not before I have checked out the nicer looking ones on the internet!!

  • Liked — Location to train station and Penarth centre
  • Disliked — noise heard from other rooms etc
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAZ_BROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

If it wasn't for the fact that this was the only place with a vacancy because of the Rod Stewart concert weekend we would have packed up and stayed somewhere else.
The room smelt musty and behind the beds looked like they had never seen a hoover. The bathroom was mouldy and overall the whole place from it's polystyrene tiled ceilings down to the dusty plastic flowers was awful. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — It Was Near The Railway Station
  • Disliked — Where Do I Start
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HONEYBUN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin/Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2006

A very nice place to stay, not posh, but giving you a warm welcome which immediately makes you feel being at home, thanks to Gloria and Rob. Excellent Welsh (!) breakfast made to order in-cluding food bought solely from the local producers in the area (Pembrokeshire), in particular, we need to mention the award winning sausage recommended by Rob. Don´t miss the nearby beach "Whitesands"! Recommendation for Dinner: the restaurant "cwtch", excellent Welsh/nouvelle cross over cuisine.

Helpful?
3 Thank T.A.User123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.6 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
2.9 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
2.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alandale Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alandale Guesthouse

Property: The Alandale Guesthouse
Address: 17 Plymouth Road | Vale Of Glamorgan, Penarth CF64 3DA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Penarth
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Alandale Guesthouse Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing