We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed whilst visiting relatives in the area. Chalet style room was everything we would have expected in a UK hotel room. - clean and well presented and above all - quiet. Full English breakfast included in the price - exceptionall good value all round. Staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WA6076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

The hotel is on the outskirts of Penarth next to a farmyard, so a car is recommended . It was 10 minutes to the centre of Cardiff by car. Stayed in family room which had a good sized double and pull out double sofa bed. It was in the area referred to as the chalets, at the back of the hotel. The room was a decent size, clean and had nice modern ensuite. The staff were friendly and the price included full English breakfast. I felt it offered good value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downlander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We often stay in hotels in the Cardiff area and this time we opted for the Manor House in Penarth which we found to be very comfortable and, compared to many hotels in the area, in a peaceful and rural location, surrounded by fields with plenty of parking. We were given a 2 bedroom chalet at the rear of the hotel which was not equipped for self catering but presumably it is for some of the year. It had a large kitchen/lounge and bathroom, together with a small patio area, in addition to the 2 bedrooms. Plenty of room for our family and a nice breakfast in the hotel in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Manor House is a fantastic hotel with the friendliest, most helpful staff you could ever wish to meet.

As a production co-oridnator for the TV industry, I have put crew and presenters in this hotel on several occassions and they have all said what a fantastic hotel this was. These are people who are used to spending a lot of time in hotels all over the country and therefore know a good hotel from a bad one.

I have also attended weddings and parties at the venue and the owner and staff have never been anything more than helpful.

The venue cannot be held responsible for the language of other guests/users and so to base a rating on that is not fair.

The location is fantastic - barely 10 minutes from the centre of Cardiff with its many restaurants and superb shopping - yet it feels as if you are miles from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is surrounded by fields and just a minutes walk from Cosmeston Lakes Country Park.

This is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sianerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Very welcoming people, staff very accommodating. I asked for goats' milk and it was provided, no bother. Non-menu evening meal provided, freshly cooked and tasty. The owners are really nice people who obviously care about their hotel, rather than just run it. Cleanliness spot on. I've stayed at a few hotels and this one has to rank very highly in its welcome and hospitality. If I had to find a negative, it would probably be the bread at breakfast, no brown availabile, but that's all I could fault. See you again when I come down to Caridff. Thanks again for the goats' milk, a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights having been told on booking site that it was fully booked, persevered and rang direct to be told they did have rooms! The welcome we received was warm and relaxed which was just what we needed after a long, late drive. Dinner was lovely, room spacious and spotless and staff were so helpful. Even made my hubby some sandwiches to take on his fishing trip next day before we arrived! ( i had asked earlier in the week if this was possible).
Breakfast fairly basic but delicious and promptly served in wonderful conservatory overlooking a very pretty garden.
As an alternative to staying in a chain hotel in Cardiff itself this was not only less expensive, it has character, a warm welcome and a decent breakfast. A lovely spot to spend the day simply chilling out too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gloria700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed there due to the Ashes Cricket v Australia as couldn't find accomodation in Cardiff itself. Bit out of the way from Cardiff itself but for approx £10 you are there in 10 mins.

Had chalet room at back of hotel - very spacious and enough room for 3 grown men ! Room was clean and tidy and new towels provided each day and beds made. Breakfast was just about enough but very good all the same.

Best thing was the friendliness of all the staff - more than helpful and good fun too made it a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyb2274_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penarth hotels
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holm House
Holm House
#1 of 5 in Penarth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Restaurant James Sommerin with Rooms
1.3 mi away
Brecon Lodge
Brecon Lodge
#3 of 5 in Penarth
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beach House Hotel
The Beach House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penarth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing