We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch and to view this venue as we are planning our wedding next year. Pietro and his team were so nice and helpful. The food was superb and the service of excellent quality.
The venue was Wonderful - peaceful, relaxing and beautiful and we are seriously considering to celebrate our wedding at Manor House. Thank you :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    45
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
51
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My son's wedding reception was held at this wonderful hotel on 6th June. It was a fantastic venue for the reception, the staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. We had a great time here and lots of wedding guests said it was the best reception and party they have ever been to.
We stayed overnight and was pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of the rooms. Tea and coffee is provided making it a nice touch.
Breakfast was lovely and exceptional value for money.
Thank you Manor House for such a lovely wedding reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Attended a wedding at this venue and the service was brilliant. The room was clean and a good size with tea and coffee. Nice gardens with plenty of seating.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the owner worked very hard to make it a successful occasion .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juli4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely nights stay at The Manor House, room lovely light airy and big. Really nice touch of Welsh cakes with the tea and coffee.
Quiet location awoken by the birds singing.
Breakfast a feast of continental or full English, superb choice.
Plenty of parking.Will stay again, highly recommended, thank you. :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubble34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandilizmanor, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for this lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Manor House Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Sandra at The Manor House Hotel, Penarth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The rooms were clean and perfectly acceptable. The sun shining through the skylight did wake us up early but sunshine is better than rain.The food was good but if you go expect poor customer service and you wont be disappointed - expect Faulty towers type of management Italian style.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandiliz, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Madam. You turned up at our hotel and wanted to check in literally hours earlier than our 2pm (normal for most hotels and earlier than many) check in time. You wanted to use our premises to get ready for a function you were attending, you really should have stayed the night before to do this, as people do. We try very hard to be flexible with people regarding check in times especially guests who have had a long and grueling journey.......you came from Newport (10 miles away). We had had a full house the night before and putting our housekeeping staff under pressure to get certain rooms cleaned for early check in is something that can only be done by prearrangement.
And so you attack us on this forum and use racism to make your point. I have complained to Tripadvisor who I am deeply disappointed in for allowing your review to be aired. We are very keen to be told what we are doing wrong and always learn from it, however spiteful racist references are not acceptable. This message is from Sandra Cancelliere owner of the Manor House Hotel and wife of the man you have insulted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay a very clean room and very friendly staff. Breakfasts and evening meals were to a high standard, so well done to the Manor House Hotel. The only problem found was staying in the chalet at the rear of the property that they have no opening windows only a front door and sliding patio doors which I wouldn't want to leave open whilst sleeping. So it became quite stuffy and airless during the night which made it difficult to sleep. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandilizmanor, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Mr Howell, thanks so much for your kind comments. We would have been happy to open the skylight for you, the last thing we want is for our guests to experience discomfort. It is understandable that you didn't want to leave the patio doors ajar.
Kind regards,
Sandra at The Manor House Hotel, Penarth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Manor house for Mother's Day Sunday dinner and wasn't let down very attentive staff and the 3 course meal was lovely!! With a good selection to choose from Eleven of us went and all enjoyed it. its a lovely manor house which made for great surroundings and the owner was great making sure we were all ok and satisfied and we were!! I will definitely be going back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandiliz, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for you lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed Mothers Day at the Manor, it's always a big thing for us that people trust us with their important events and it's wonderful to hear first hand that we got it right! x Hope we see you all again soon!
Regards and Best wishes,
Sandra and Pietro at The Manor House Hotel, Penarth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
3.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing