We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Reviewed October 15, 2012

An excellent venue for a quiet weekend away, set in it's own ground but close enough to civilisation this proved a perfect choice. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff with bar and food prices reasonable all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: All the chalets were well sound proofed and suitable for family or friends sharing. Under floor heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting family in Penarth. The hotel was difficult to locate as there are no signs and the road name was covered in hedges. We were allocted a chalet room which I requested be changed as the room smelt damp and the bathroom and showerhead were thick with black mould. A young lady agreed with us and changed our room to another of the chalet rooms at the back of a short corridor. The showerhead was slightly less mouldy but again the room smelt damp and the bathroom had a large amount of black mould around the bath and tiles. The TV was ancient and kept turning off. The bedding was clean. The room had a skylight with no covering, so the room was light at dawn. We had breakfast both mornings which was freshly cooked and served in the main hotel. I had let them know I needed gluten free bread, but they didn't seem to know what it was!! The grounds appear to be being refreshed but the hotel needs a good clean and update even if it is 2 star.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judeandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a friends wedding, Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the day and morning after. A great wedding venue that can provide a hog roast, plenty of room for the ceremony, dining and disco. I stayed in a room at the back of the hotel, very large with a sofa, desk, ancient TV set, closet and tea and coffee making facilities. Also an extrodinary number of plug sockets. First impressions were very good, however the smoke detector in my room had been ripped out with wires exposed and the skylight window in these rooms means daylight streams in when dawn breaks. Price was good and more than adequete but I wouldn't stay for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleJayCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Manor House to catch up with some friends from Cardiff. It was an excellent base for visiting the area, lovely hotel with really friendly staff. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

superb weekend,great hotel set in a great bit of welsh countryside with fantastic views.
very helpful staff with great local knowledge and advice,able to cater for all types of functions and provide food and services of an excellent standard,would like to visit again without a doubt.
5 STAR.

Room Tip: go for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woz0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel for one night in order to attend a family wedding party. We stayed in one of the chalet rooms whilst my father stayed in the main building in a single room. We found both rooms to be very clean and comfortable. The hospitality from the owner and staff was excellent and even though the hotel was full they were still able to find time to be friendly, chatty and accommodating. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was most enjoyable without being rushed. If you ever need a hotel in Penarth area of Wales the "Manor House" is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

we recently held our wedding at the hotel. the whole day was perfect. the proprietor and staff were very accommodating to all our requests. i would recommend this venue. there is full disabled access.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#10 of 74 in Cardiff
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holm House
Holm House
#1 of 5 in Penarth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing