We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous French feast”
Review of Cafe Des Amis - CLOSED

Cafe Des Amis
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: French, British, Welsh
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous French feast”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A cute this restaurant with French themes running throughout. Good menu selection and food very enjoyable and good value for money.
The staff were delightful and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed without being intrusive.
Thoroughly recommended and looks like it would be well worth a visit during the day even just for coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    5
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
historian
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Penarth”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are quite a few restaurants in the centre of Penarth but this is without doubt the one where you can find the best food and at a fair price. The ambiance is certainly reminiscent of a French bistro and the atmosphere is warm. All this is thanks to the proprietor and manager, a most charming lady who spent years living in France. The cooking is wholesome, stylish and very tasty and delivers on flavour and satisfaction whether you are looking for French or British cuisine (including the breakfasts). The chef here is experienced, skilled and reliable. The choice of wines is not extensive but the ones they do have are very good. Go on, try it, you won't be disappointed and you'll want to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francophileHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I live in France and had the good luck to discover this place. What a find! It really is a charming family-run restaurant. A warm welcome and a great atmosphere. We dined well and the only drawback was not being able to stay on and try the deserts. Café des Amis styles itself as a French bistro and it hits the nail on the head. Next time I'm in Penarth I'll be back - there are a few such so-called bistros in France that could learn from this place. Bien fait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had 30 minutes to kill int he monring before a meeting and popped in for a coffee and a bit of breakfast. The point of the review is that they were not fully open and ready and pushed for time gettin the sandwich round on the road - despte that, they still made a gorgeous sausage baguette. That might be simple, but anoyone who spends the time to get the simple stuff right and serve it with a smile despite not being prepared and fully open offers great attention to detail in my book. And we'll be back to taste the full delights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Warm and cosy atmosphere, great hosts”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were drawn into this lovely little
Bistro, not only by its good deals but it's relaxed and warm atmosphere. They go a great steak or mussels with wine deal which is excellent value for money and the food was well cooked and delicious. The hosts, Cheryl and her sister and daughter were welcoming and warm hosts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lprice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing