We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views. Good food. Pricey though. ”
Review of Pier 64

Pier 64
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views. Good food. Pricey though. ”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing atmosphere. You need to book as it's always busy and relatively small. But the food is good and the views over the marina are excellent.

Been a couple of times in recent months.

Excellent wine selection. Excellent service.

Only downside is price. It is certainly on the expensive side - but as something for a treat, or a romantic meal for two - worth it.

Helpful?
Thank JPWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    184
    103
    58
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Class Food & Service”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had this restaurant recommended to me whilst looking for a Steak restaurant in the Cardiff area (this is 5 mile outside). Firstly this is situated overlooking a Marina and is secluded and not cheap but the food and wine was absolutely first rate.
The 4 of us had starters and then shared a 1.7Kg Chateaubriand cooked medium rare (and it was perfect) served on a platter and already sliced, plus side dishes and wine.
This restaurant is not cheap but you get what you pay for totally, service with a smile, nothing was too much trouble and no pushing to get the next lot in.
One Recommendation pre book!! we we're lucky and just got in by turning up, but many were turned away after us as we had the last table (phew)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very expensive and a service charge!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The food is good but given that it is so expensive, the service was average and they apply a service charge the overall rating has to poor. My advice is to get your steak and chips elsewhere!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanley Swan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“expected better”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was part of a group of 4 ladies who went to lunch at Pier 64. We had the set lunch and maybe I should not have expected much. The food was reasonably good but I wasn't blown away. It was reasonable for the price. service was OK, all in all I've had better.... and I've had much worse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I visited the restaurant on Saturday 2nd Nov for lunch with my partner and had to comment on the excellent service and food.

In particular the Barman (sorry forgot his name) who made us some excellent Martini's along with Kyle who gave us the warmest of welcomes and provided an service above and beyond the call of duty.

The food was amazing in every aspect from portion size to seasoning and presentation.

Thank you very much to all the staff and chef's for a truly memorable lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaay_deee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 64 also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Pier 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing