We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience but great views .”
Review of Cioni's

Cioni's
Ranked #53 of 72 Restaurants in Penarth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor experience but great views .”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for coffee and a snack yesterday , despite asking for black coffee with a splash of milk we were given black coffee with half a pint of whole milk splashed in it . Coffee was tasteless , but the lady who served us was so sullen. No smile or welcome, despite my smile towards her . We agree go elsewhere for tidy coffee and food .........and probably pay less for better quality and a welcome .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    7
    18
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great Location but that's about it.

I had a hot drink that had no Taste other as hot milk drink! Another poster has said go into town to get a proper coffee and that is the best advice I can give. The drink was so tasteless I didn't order anything else! If you can't a hot drink right it doesn't sound that good does it.

The Lady's toilet was out of action! What it does it take to get a plumber. I will not be going back.

The drinks you have to get your self no service and they were in my view expensive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No welcome, no "thanks for coming, please come again", food was disgusting !”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had lunch here yesterday (Saturday 09:06:12), food was very poor, there was no welcome, no how is your meal and we were totally ignored upon our departure. This establishment does not deserve to keep on trading ! On the plus side the view is very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The location of this establishment is prime. Lovely views, kids play area, ample free parking etc etc.
I have to eat here occasionally as its a relatives highly favored place of choice.
The seating area is extremley cramped and leaves very little room for movement, I dread anyone with mobility problems or parents with small children. I think the owner is trying to provide everything for everyone, very much so much on display around the counter in a very small space. The food I have eaten here each time is very much at the average end of the scale bordering on the lower end for some items, especially the fries. I have never had a "fresh" tasting cake here either. Also be aware of the condimemt sauces, tomato and brown are certainly of a very cheap inferior variety. Given the standard of the food the prices are on the high end of things.
Staff have been ok but nothing special.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardifftop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spend your money somewhere else!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Totally unimpressed with this establishment, go into town for a decent cappuccino!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioni's also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cioni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing