We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and very good food”
Review of The Fig Tree

The Fig Tree
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award Winning Independent Restaurant, Owner Managed, Affordable Fresh Food. Everything prepared and cooked on site. Local free Range & Organic Meat, Fresh Sustainable Wild Fish, Local Seasonal vegetables. Great Views, Relaxed Atmosphere, Friendly Staff. All in this wonderful Victorian former beach shelter & life boat station.We welcome those with special dietary requirementsGold winner of Wales True Taste Best Restaurant in Wales 2012/13We look forward to seeing you at The Fig Tree. Mike & Sandie
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely location and very good food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had lunch here on saturday - very busy but we'd booked an outside table so that was OK, the views are lovely from here and the fish and chips was very good, the lemon possett was delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    176
    78
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry South Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We took both mothers out for Mothering Sunday. We have had some past disasters with mothers day meals and I booked this on the basis of other TA reviews with fingers crossed.

Everything was helped by a lovely sunny day, bearing in mind its still March we were able to sit outside with a bottle of wine as we had arrived early. The service was excellent, the food far better than I expected, even my picky father could not find fault. We requested the vegetables to be cooked till they were soft, they gave us extra gravy, service with a smile, and checked in regularly to see that all was fine. My mother in law was off colour and it was noticed that she had not cleared her plate. They even offered her something else - going that extra mile makes a difference. I think my parents will go back under their own steam, and I know I will.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pula888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Took my mother who is in her 90,s and really enjoyed the sunday lunch. We had Welsh lamb and the really liked the whole dining experience. Staff helpful and and we were not rushed. Excellent food and views over the bristol channel superb. Well recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michaeldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful food,wonderful views.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My partner and I took our daughter and a few friends to have Sunday lunch at The Fig Tree a week ago.We had passed a few times whilst strolling along the esplanade with the dog.It certainly looked inviting with tables on a lovely veranda overlooking the renovated pier and across to Somerset.We were not disappointed.It was a glorious spring Sunday and the tables outside were full with diners either enjoying the wonderful food or kicking back with a glass of red watching the sailing regatta in the hazy sunshine do their picture postcard tacking and turning.We had a big table inside with wonderful views through the expansive picture windows.What could be nicer.The Sunday lunches were delicious,beautifully cooked using local ingredients and generously portioned.The staff were smart and attentive.My beef dinner was cooked to perfection.My partners chicken equally so.With my lunch I enjoyed a gorgeous,intense,full bodied red.After dinner we all had an ice cream from the vendor in a little shop below The Fig Tree and gently meandered along the sea front watching the boats.Wonderful day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 940Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch and Service!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Enjoyed one of the best Sunday lunches we have ever experienced at The Fig Tree yesterday. Everything was cooked to perfection, the atmosphere was great and wonderful attention was paid by all staff in a packed restaurant. Well done everybody and we will undoubtedly be returning to The Fig Tree much more often,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fig Tree also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing