We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annie_qui...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We went for my cousins hen party with our family.
The place is just amazing, they cater for everything you could ever need. We had a caterer (I cook for you) in for the Saturday night and on the Sunday for afternoon tea. The food on both occasions was so delicious.
We were luckily enough to get snow on the Sunday so being in the hot tub during the snow flurry was lovely.
The kitchen area was gorgeous, perfect for dancing around the island.
The owners were extremely helpful!
We never wanted to leave, we would all love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikecarr8
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“50th Birthday weekend in a luxurious property.”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I have just got back from my 50th birthday weekend at this magnificent property. 18 adults stayed the weekend in total luxury in this very high spec accommodation. If you are looking for a property that has the wow factor look no further. The owners are lovely, the renovation of this property is a credit to the owners. From the handmade kitchen to the high spec bathrooms if you think this property looks good in the photo's wait until you get in it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell-lle...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed October Half term”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a fabulous place. We have just returned from a stay at Castell Courtyard, for half term week, a group of 10 adults and 8 children (teenagers). The place is huge, plenty of space so you never feel on top of one another, bedrooms are in three separate wings plus two lounges with log burning stoves ; the children took over the smaller lounge which has smart TV. Everything is really good quality (Even Jo Malone diffuser) they have thought of everything that you could possibly need. The pictures on the website really don't do it justice, it is large enough to lose yourself. Only comments would be that a games room (snooker/air hockey etc) would have been could to keep kids entertained as there isn't anywhere outside to play football/cricket etc (I would probably change downstairs bedroom near door) however having said this they really did entertain themselves with hide and seek etc. Thanks for fab time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, luxurious, well situated, - didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a family reunion spent at the amazing Castell Courtyard. It was very luxurious and if rated in the same way that restaurants are, it would have several Michelin stars.

There is a huge amount of space, and the kitchen and lounges are superbly equipped with everything you need and more.
A lot of thought and has been given to the décor which is stunning, and the bedrooms, ensuites, and bathrooms, are all immaculate and very tastefully decorated.

We all enjoyed the hot tub which is very high end, with stunning lighting and a music system. Great barbecue as well.
There are many beautiful walks around and close to Castell Courtyard and the Pistyll Rhaedr waterfall is just a couple of miles away and definitely worth a visit , as are Bala Lake and Lake Vyrnwy which are also just a short distance away.
We had a very memorable and incredibly comfortable stay at Castell Courtyard and cannot recommend it highly enough.


The Reunion Group
May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Well equipped, beautifully decorated and designed. Outstanding comfort Amazing space
Liked least: everything was fantastic so no complaints on any front
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible feedback with us all, we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your reunion at Castell Courtyard. The owner has obviously put much thought and attention into making their guests experience wonderful - that hot tub complete with lighting & music system sounds particularly superb! We certainly hope you return for your next family reunion!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenna n
Padiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Went in january for a friends hen party and i didnt want to leave would have happily stayed here and moved in what a place. They have every base covered for anyone to stay here with the distance in rooms you could easily visit with young children and not disturb guests who dont have little ones. There are games provided dvd's a playstation you really will find everything. The kitchen i especially loved they literally have anything you could need want and more and all being in perfect condition everything was spotless on arrival and just so well thought out. Extremely comfortable beds and bed linen is all in perfect condition the decor of the whole place was impeccable. I would recommend this place to everyone if you want true luxury at a brilliant price then you must book. We had caterers in on the saturday who were also fantastic. i would love to go back here. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: maybe a little warm in the first room but then again i am pregnant and carrying my own little heater.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
Thank you for sharing this thoroughly wonderful review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Castell Courtyard. The owners have obviously done a fabulous job with the place, providing you with all you could need and more - as you said, true luxury! We certainly hope you return to repeat the experience very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M
Southport
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday ”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks to aled and family for making us so welcome. This is a very high quality conversion in a beautiful location. Even the sun shone in February! The kids loved seeing and feeding the animals and it was nice to find out a bit about life on a working farm. Perfect location for a family holiday and looking forward to next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your break at Castell Courtyard. It sounds like the owners really gave you a little taste of farm life, and what a treat for the children (and adults too we'd expect!) to feed the animals! We hope you return for another visit next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alwena r
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break at Castell Coyrtyard with friends. What a fantastic place to stay. Top end luxury in a beautifully renovated barn with more than you could ever expect in a holiday let with beautiful character and wood burning stoves. Lovely outside space too with the added advantage of a hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing such a lovely review with us, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Castell Courtyard! To hear you describe it as "perfection" is music to our ears, and what we are always striving for - we couldn't be happier you feel this way! We certainly hope you will be back to enjoy it all over again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing