We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A mini narnia to fire your imagination”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Vivnista
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A mini narnia to fire your imagination”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You can really tell when you have found somewhere special when leaving makes you sorrowful. Marion and Brian have created a little piece of magical paradise to fire imaginations and encourage getting back to nature
From its own waterfall to rambling woods, dens, ping-pong, fire pits, day bed, fluffy blankets, homemade pavlova, honestly, the list of spoils is endless.
Our family of three fitted in just fine and we left after two days feeling invigorated and relaxed. We are desperately trying to manouver a longer break for later this year as we cannot wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Absolutely nothing. Perfection
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences after staying at Riverside Retreat. We are very conscious of the importance of trying to ' get it right', so that guests like yourselves can fully benefit even on a short break. Our aim is to encourage imaginations like yours . A true sign that Riverside Retreat was able to take you somewhere special, both mentally and physically .We look forward to your return visit when you will see the makeover of the Riverside Retreat courtyard. It will be filled with lavender a Rosemary and thyme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smeagle46
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the cabin, it had everything that we needed and was very cosy. We arrived to find a lovey home made Bara Brith and a lovely bottle of wine and the cabin was beautifully warm for us. Surroundings are beautiful, enjoyed visiting the falls on our first day and a great walk on the Berwyn mountains to visit the lake. We received a warm welcome in the local shop,cafe and the two pubs we visited and would recommend the Beef Goulash at the Plough Inn. All in all had a fabulous weekend despite the rain and hope to return to the cabin very soon. Many thanks to Marian and Brian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2016
Thank you for your comments and information which I'm sure will help future guests. We hope you do return soon as you will be made most welcome. You will see some changes to the outside space as the dry weather has enabled us to create a gravel garden filled with lavender, Rosemary and Thyme ( completion beginning of March ) We plan to extend the jetty over the river as soon as the weather warms sufficiently to brave the icy cold river. This project will not be undertaken whilst guests are in situ. Riverside Retreat will be even more special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelle200...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely chalet in the most perfect surroundings. This is exactly what we were looking for and Marian & Brian were kind enough to accommodate us with less than 24 hours notice - we're so grateful! We were even welcomed with a homemade apple pie and bottle of wine, they really have thought of everything to create a perfect, relaxing stay. The scenery is beautiful and we really enjoyed evenings on the jetty over-looking the river, with the fire pit. A visit to the waterfall at the end of the street is a must, views from the top are stunning. Can also recommend the fish & chip shop in the village, best chips I've tasted. Can't thank Marian & Brian enough, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquill surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Brian and I are so pleased the cabin met with your expectations and that you made the most of what we offer. We hope you can return one day as there is much to explore in this area. We strive to improve and provide a holiday / short break that can start from the moment you arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBShro...
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb setting - an ideal place to get away from it all, relax & unwind.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I were made to feel most welcome by the owners, Brian & Marian. They were keen too that we should make the most of their superb garden and setting.

It was easy to do so. The cleverly designed chalet was modern, comfortable and immaculate. Each evening, we lit the brazier and sat out on the decking overlooking the river with a glass of something and stayed there long after dark.

The surrounding hills are superb for walking, with spectacular views.

Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Next to the river
Liked least: All fine
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.It was a pleasure meeting you both and wish you both success with your future plans. We were so pleased to hear the pleasure you both enjoyed from our natural surroundings, extending into the late evenings with the fire pit , jetty / river experience, over a glass of 'something'. Well done for finding your way to the top of the Waterfall from Riverside Retreat , not for the faint hearted!.Your photos are great. We hope you can return one day soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEST Retreat (self-catering) we've stayed at in Europe”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent the August Bank Holiday at Riverside Retreat. I am an American living in London with my husband. We spend a lot of time traveling through Europe and prefer to stay at Self-Catering facilities. This was the BEST self catering retreat we've stayed at. The cottage was exceptional. It was in an idyllic setting. The host / hostess keep a beautiful garden. The garden was like staying in a 5 star resort. You can hear the babbling brook and walk among the flowers and garden. The cottage itself had EVERYTHING provided. We didn't need to go to the store to get anything (i.e. soap, Al foil, paper products, trash bags, etc...). The hostess received us with a warm smile, a bottle of wine, homemade sausage platte, and fresh veg. Well worth the drive and the money!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Wow!! Thanks for your glowing review. We are so pleased you appreciated the few extras we put in the cabin enabling guests to start their holiday immediately they arrive. We know how important 'escaping' he hustle, bustle of our crazy world is as we have ALL those T shirts. We are fortunate to experience this wonderful location on a daily basis and feel we need to share it and help our guests recharge , relax and see our world from a beautiful prospective. Thank you for sharing your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdja2015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome & Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very warm welcome and a beautiful setting make this property a perfect "retreat". Marian and Brian are very hospitable and incredibly helpful. The property is well equipped and coped well with a family of 4. Close to the spectacular Llanrhaeadr Waterfall, Lake Vrynwy, Bala, Chester and more, there's also plenty to do. Many Thanks.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Thank you for letting us and very importantly others know how much you enjoyed and got the most from your stay at Riverside Retreat. Our plans to improve the accommodation are constant so as to enhance the experience of staying at Riverside Retreat. We hope we see you again one day. Thank you for your custom and review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome retreat in a delightful area with very welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here Aug 8th to 14th with our 13 year old son. We loved it from the word go.
Marian and Brian, our hosts were warm and welcoming and always available if we needed any advice on the very beautiful area. We were blessed with fantastic weather and really enjoyed ourselves. We found the retreat to be well kitted out and very well presented.
We made full use of the outdoor area, fire pit, barbeque and the table tennis and pool table in the polly tunnel.
We were told there was an Ethernet cable but we did not use it. We could give our family Marian and Brian's telephone number if they needed to contact us.
A wonderful retreat in every sense of the word.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility of the setting.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
We thank you for troubling to write a review for Riverside Retreat and thank you for highlighting some of the additional extras which you enjoyed so much. We are setting plans in motion to enhance holidays at our retreat in the form of a larger covered area to sit and relax under and beat the occasional showers we have in Wales but not to reduce the patio area's ability to be a sun trap.Our aim is for our guests not to feel let down by the temperamental weather here in the UK.We enjoyed meeting you all and hope one day to see you again.Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing