We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chris steve”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chris steve”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

we went to the wynnstay every night to eat, fantastic food, fantastic people, it was like home from home, food was excellent, also the service, and the staff could'nt do enough for us. we will deffinatly be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and i had lunch at the Wynnstay Arms Hotel,we found the staff were very friendly and the service was first class.
The portions were very good for the price of the meal and the quality was spot on!
I would thoroughly recommend that if you are in the area that you go and see for yourself that this is a excellent eating place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

stayed for 1 night- waited for the one memeber of staff to finish serving the entire pub before he served us, room tired and drab , toliet smeeled of damp, windows were dirty and didnt open propery, bed clothes werent aired and felt dingy. really didnt want to sleep in the bed... breakfast was the worst Ive have ever tasted, eggs burnt, toast already buttered ( i dont eat butter) and mushrooms that looked about a month pastb their use by date. My partners bacon was terrible and from about three different packets- some smoked some not. We left as quickly as we could. Best thing about this place is the location in the middle of the village. Will stay at Eirianfa from now on and never return her- be warned !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deborah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidarussell55, Owner at The Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I managed to track down your stay at the Wynnstay Arms Hotel two months prior to review.
I distinctly remember carrying out your bags at the rear of the hotel and asking if you had enjoyed your stay with us, you replyed yes and would be back, if it had been such a bad experience and you had told me about it at the time I would have had no hesitation what so ever in giving you a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed elsewhere in the village but went to the Wynnstay Arms Hotel to eat. It took us several minutes to find a member of staff and when we did we were initially told food was finished for the evening. It was only 6.30pm and food started at 6pm! They did then say they would serve us food. As we were in Wales we both went for the lamb but were extremely disappointed when it arrived, cold onion rings, undercooked peas, overcooked carrots and underwhelming lamb. There are much better places to eat in the village than the Wynnstay Arms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidarussell55, Owner at The Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Very Sorry you were disapointed with your experience to the Wynnstay Arms Hotel, I am just a bit confused because I asked you and your group if everything was alright and you told me it was very good, and yet the review was so disapointing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Picked the Wynnstay after reading about it in the Great Little Places to Stay in Wales for a 1 night stay on our way back from N Wales.
Great location in a picturesque village in scenic mid Wales. The Wynnstay is in the centre of the village.
Warm welcome on arrival and staff very friendly and helpful and we had a large comfortable room overlooking the garden.
Ate in the Hotel in the evening and enjoyed the meal as we did our breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anturiaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed locally but not here, tried dinner wth my husband on Friday night.

Menu promised but not as decribed, largely frozen food, cheap enough I suppose and if that is what you were after fair enough.

Interestingly, it took us 10 minutes on arrival to find a member of staff p- quaint I suppose in a strange way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianeholt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidarussell55, Owner at The Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, I think your caption Tired & Drab is an unfair comment as the Wynnstay Arms Hotel was in fact completely refurbished in February 2011.
You also refer to the food being cheap and largely frozen, I can 100% challenge you on this point as all the meat comes from a local butcher, and all the vegitables are fresh and sourced locally.
Our Chef insists on homemade cooking and only a very small proportion of food is frozen, on a final note the majority of the reviews we receive actually praise our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

First of all I should stress that we did not stay at the Wynnstay Arms, we only ate in the restaurant, so this review only addresses that.
We went for Sunday lunch which was amazingly good value, 3 courses for £10.
The food was delicious. Most of us opted for the roast, and there was plenty of meat and vegetables, although a bit of a shortage of roast potatoes! We asked for another plate of them, which were happily provided, but we were in a big group so we still could have managed a few more. However, for such an excellent price we can't really complain.
The service was quite slow though, considering the restaurant was quite empty. We were waiting for our starters for quite a while.
We asked to have our desserts in the garden as it was such a nice day, and the staff were happy to oblige. We sat out there for an hour or so afterwards, and realised they hadn't even taken our money for the bill. When we left we had to go back and hand them the money, they looked like they had forgotten about us.
Overall, excellent cheap food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
4.2 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
127 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,504 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 1 in Llangynog
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Plas Uchaf
Plas Uchaf
#1 of 4 in Llanfyllin
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wynnstay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Property: The Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Address: Market Square, Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant SY10 0JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of one of Mid-Wales prettiest villages - nestled in the stunning Tanat Valley. Within easy reach of the Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall (one of the Wonders of Wales), the craggy mountains and dramatic contrasting landscape of Snowdonia, Lake Vyrnwy, Powis Castle and Gardens in Welshpool, and the historic towns of Chester and Shrewsbury. Llangollen with its world famous festival is easily accessible as is the Clwyd Theatre Cymru in Mold and the wonders of the village of Portmeirion. Several golf courses are nearby (20 mins) and horse riding, fishing and sailing are available, together with some of the finest walking country in the UK. In this most beautiful part of Mid-Wales you can savour the atmosphere of traditional market towns (Llanfyllin 6 miles), go walking along ancient pathways, enjoy the pleasures of touring peaceful roads and at the end of the day return to the comfort of the Wynnstay Arms Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing