We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grub!”

The Plough Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Plough Country Inn is a traditional country pub with restaurant and rooms, freshly prepared food, local meats and well sourced foods. We are popular with locals and tourists, families welcome, dog friendly, we welcome groups of walkers / cyclists.It is probably best to book at weekends.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Grub!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Enjoyed a great Sunday lunch here with extended family, good menu, best bits were home made garlic mushrooms and the bread and butter pudding, nicely looked after pub, friendly staff, beautiful old range fire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gher678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    19
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always Spot On!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Held our modest wedding do here after tying the knot at the nearby waterfall wedding venue, great effort with our special menu, very veggie friendly, lots of entertainment options thrown in for no extra charge. The real winning point is that this looks and feels like a proper country pub - because that is exactly what it is. Accommodation is also well presented and value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Great Country Inn”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Can't say enough about this place, proper pub, proper food served in a traditional bar with a roaring real fire. Nice beer garden out the back for the kids to run about in. We study regularly at a nearby caravan site 'henstent' and we always make a point of visiting at least once. I should add the Sunday lunch is beautifully done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grey County
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Plough Country Inn”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped at "The Plough Country Inn" because the sign outside read two meals for 12 pounds. It might have been another price I forget. Anyway they didn't offer that special when we got inside, it was for a different time. However that night they were offering a "cuttlery" that included three or four different types of meat. I had that. My wife and son ordered from the menu. The food was good, the service was friendly and helpful. I liked the interior decor. I would recommend it as a good place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rich4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rustic Pub”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great little country pub, not pretentious, sensibly priced well prepared food served in a well looked after traditional pub / restaurant. We consider this a good find in a truly beautiful location, we hope to return very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Country Inn also viewed

Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys
Llangedwyn, Powys
 
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys
Llanfechain, Powys
 

Been to The Plough Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing