We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Met all of our needs and expectations”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cross House

Cross House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Ensuite sink
Ensuite shower
Family bathroom with spa bath
Family bathroom
Lounge with wood burning stove
Main reception wood burning stove ready to light with well stocked wood baskets
Well equiped kitchen
Kitchen with family sized fridge freezer and dishwasher
Kitchen alcove
Utility room with 9kg load washing machine
Original farm house stone stairs
Landing
Landing
Second reception
Second reception double sofabed
Downstairs toilet
The back of Cross House
The River Wye at Llyswen June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glasbury-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TERRY L
1 review
“Met all of our needs and expectations”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Rachel and her family were very welcoming and attentive to any of our requests or concerns during our 2 week stay.
The property was ideally situated for our excursions into the surrounding area. The house was perfect for our needs as we had family members coming and going during our stay. The three bathrooms were a bonus! We did note the absence of safety bars in the shower and bathtub especially as it was a necessity for some of our group. The kitchen was modern and adequately supplied with cooking and serving necessities. The cooker was to die for!! Dining area was a little tight. Great to have the washer...could have used a dryer or at least a drying rack. We were grateful to Rachel for changing our bedding and towels mid stay.
There was a Spar shop just around the corner for bare essentials and a pub which did serve evening meals a short walk up the road.
All in all it was a very pleasant two weeks in Wales with mostly sunshine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phelantan...
1 review
“Fabulous house, fabulous location and fabulous owner.”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked Cross House for the bank holiday weekend for a group of 6 in order to attend a wedding. The house was absolutely fantastic! Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Rachael. She was absolutely lovely.

The house was absolutely perfect for us. The kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms were all fantastic and the whole house was very clean and finished to a very high standard. The living room was also a great space to relax.

The location was also fantastic for us being close to the wedding venue. That area of the country was also just stunning....so green...beautiful countryside and hills. There was a petrol station/Spar about a minutes walk away and a lovely cafe opposite.

A special mention for the owner Rachael. She is such a wonderful person, very friendly and helpful and she made our stay even more enjoyable. She even made us chocolate brownies and even drove us to the wedding venue about 15 minutes away!

Overall we had the most enjoyable stay. The house is fantastic, the location superb and the owner was fabulous! Would I recommend it....YES....would I stay there again....YES!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Dear John,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a heart felt review. It really matters to me that guests feel welcome and we get the hospitality aspect right for our guests. We are also grateful that you appreciate the quality and finer touches of Cross House. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Rachael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W
1 review
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently at Cross House for a week. The accommodation was excellent, lovely and clean and with a fab kitchen. It was all great. Rachael and her family made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really nice and we would definately stay there again
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbySoph...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend with family and had a great time.

Spacious and in a good location with a local pub about 2 minutes down the road (the one opposite has now closed). Easy to get to places like Hay-on-Wye.

Great hosts and on hand for anything.

Sound travels a little in the house, so can get a bit noisy if people are chatting in the rooms below.

Would definitely recommend however - was ideal for our family break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write me such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at cross House and please don't worry about the confusion with the check out time. I am glad you all had such a relaxing time we are more than happy to be flexible to accommodate! We look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Rachael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca H
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend Away”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked here after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. The house was great (there were seven adults) Rachel was welcoming and friendly even leaving a bottle of fizz for the birthday boy.
We were able to visit Hay on Wye for a morning trip and then we used the pub directly opposite to enjoy a fabulous Welsh win at the RWC.
We all said we would recommend Cross House and would return.
A special thanks to Rachel for organising great weather too

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Etwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely House”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here due to the close proximity for a wedding, so didn't spend too much time here, but we all thought the house was lovely, with a nice kitchen, living areas, bedrooms & bathrooms.
The owner was very nice & friendly.
The only downside was no stair rail when going upstairs - perfectly fine for most people, so don't let this put you off, but my father in law has had a stroke & found it difficult getting up & down with nothing to hold onto, so perhaps something to bear in mind if you have someone infirm in your party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice house, well appointed, plenty of room
Liked least: no stair hand rail for elderly member of the family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing