We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, attentive service and Canoes!!”
Review of The River Cafe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Cafe B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A short break for 2 families with 4 children, 2 vegetarians, 1 vegan including a child with multiple dietary requirements. The River Cafe were superb. We phoned ahead to advise Jane, Alex and the Team of the situation and they took care of everything.
Food was fabulous, and unlike the previous reviewer we had no issues with illness - a number of us even had a variety of seafood dishes.
We will be returning and recommending the River Cafe B&B to our friends and families.
As well as good food and accomodation they are next door to Wye Valley Canoes who arranged a two day Canoe trip down the Wye with a guide to ensure we were safe.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ate on the 26 july. Everything went well until 5am I found myself vomiting. I felt like death for 48 hrs and fully recovered a few days later. I had the scallops and steak. It's a shame as I love the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newhaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeelizabethWales, Owner at The River Cafe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

I am sorry that you have been ill. I immediately telephoned the Environmental Health Office but they had had no reports of illness. Indeed 46 portions of scallops were served over the same two day period and we had no other complaints. The fish supplier from Cornwall also had received no complaints about the scallops. The Environmental Health Officer told me that illness is usually caused by an airbourne virus, and can often be by something as simple as a sneeze. We take a great deal of pride in our cooking and in the high standards of the kitchen. The Environmental Health Officer shared my belief that it was most unlikely to have come from the restaurant. We hope you come and enjoy a meal with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If we could go more often we would!! Very,enthusiastic, friendly and welcoming. A meal outside on a Summer's evening with a view along the Wye is unforgettable. If you enjoy canoeing then there can be few better places to stay in the UK. You would find it hard to get a better breakfast at any B and B. Simple, attractive rooms, 2 in particular, looking over the river. Book early if you plan to visit at Hay Festival time!

Room Tip: Only two of the four roome have view immediately looking over the River Wye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillandRichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in the River Cage again yesterday [31st May 2012] We went canoeing from the centre next door. After the days canoeing to The Boat Inn at Whitney we returned to the River Cafe. The staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough to help, even secured us a table in the window for the evening meal. The accomodation is good, we had a room looking onto the river which can be a little noisy so close to the road. The evening meal was fantastic, Scallops and Chorizo to start and the skewered Monk Fish was fantastic!!! a lovely atmosphere and staff who couldnt do enough for us, very attentive. Breakfast was lovely too, we had the same table in the window. Local produce [full english] helped along with local apple juice. To cap it all 'the' Will Young walked in [ Must have heard we were staying there!! lol]. We have stayed in the River Cafe a couple of times now but this was by far our best of the best stays. I would recommend the place to anybody. If you are going to the Hay Festival it would be a great place to base yourselves perhaps why we couldnt get a vaccancy for the Friday night.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the river can be noisy because of the road. We had one with a lovely bath but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The River Cafe, we were in Wales taking part in a 75 mile sponsored charity ride, doing 25 miles a day, The River Cafe provided us with a brilliant hearty breakfast to start the day and a lovely warm comfortable base to come back to after some very hard days of riding. One evening our whole group of about 25 people all dined at The Cafe, we were all made very welcome with a lovely filling dinner and a brilliant atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable, the staff were lovely too, so friendly, we couldn't fault this place and would defiantly return

Room Tip: Room 3 is facing the road which can be a little noisy in the early morning but it is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Lovely position, very well thought out décor, friendly attentive staff, great Italian menu........ so imagine our disappointment when the bread and olives arrived (bearing in mind the Italian background) and instead of the anticipated focaccia or similar with some delicious olives,we got those tasteless black pitted cheap as chips ones and some French stick of the mass catering part baked variety. We had ordered a starter of fried aubergine which was delicious but small, just one slice with a little salad, a bit mean for £6.50.The main course lasagne and salad was also very tasty.......we would like to visit again and hope maybe for some lovely Italian bread and olives to match the quality of the rest of the menu.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Went to the River Cafe last night - very few people out due to the cold but the welcome was very warm and the food was all cooked to perfection. Including the ratatouile cooked specially for my daughter by Charlie - thanks. Can not fault it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasbury-on-Wye hotels
0.3 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aberllynfi House
Aberllynfi House
#2 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#7 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#1 of 1 in Glasbury-on-Wye
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maesyronnen Bed & Breakfast
Maesyronnen Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Cafe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Cafe B&B

Address: Glasbury Bridge | Glasbury-on-Wye, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Price Range: $122 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Cafe B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the river at Glasbury, 4 miles from Hay-on-Wye the River Café is a café/restaurant with 5 rooms, a bunkhouse and a canoe centre. The rooms are simple, modern and ideal for a base to explore this wonderful area. The Brecon Beacons National Park is just a short drive away and we are on the Sustran Cycle Network and the Wye Valley Walk. We get a lot of paddlers with their own canoes staying before they set off downstream. The breakfasts in the café are a treat with great coffee and a full English breakfast to set you up for the day. We are a small family run business with an entirely local staff who can help you with things to do in the area and where to walk. Return to the café in the evening for freshly cooked food and a glass of wine on the decking. What could be better! Please note we are open 7 days a week from 0830 but early close in the winter months (4pm) from Sun-Tues. Weds to Sat open 0830 till late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The River Cafe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Cafe Hotel Glasbury-On-Wye
The River Cafe Bed And Breakfast
The River Cafe B&B Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing