We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country pub”
Review of The Harp Inn

The Harp Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasbury-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harp Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great country pub”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed recently for a couple of nights. The room had a great view of the river and was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was fantastic! Had fabulous fish and chips one night in the bar and will definitely stay again to see more of the area.

Room Tip: Back rooms have great views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
37
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

small "musty" room at the rear first floor with great views of river,but cold first thing on an autumn morning. Very good real pub atmosphere and first class hosts, great beers, very good breakfast,- but on this occasion, room not serviced on second day hence no tea/coffee/milk either. Frankly I felt misled by other peoples' earlier reviews

Room Tip: always ask to see the shower working first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Got to this pub just after 2.00 p.m. last Tuesday. I saw the landlord's notice saying 'Food Served' and even after seeing him take it down, even though he originally told me 'Sorry, I've stopped serving food now' he made up for his original (what I thought was negative) attitude by giving me some very tasty cheese and pickle sandwiches. My only criticism of this pub is that although it is open from 12.00 midday to 3.00 p.m. for lunch, it doesn't say on the boards what time food is served. Lunch is only served until 2.00 p.m. here and if ever I am in and around Hay-on-Wye again I will be back provided the landlord puts his food serving times on the noticeboard. It may be of interest to him that I suffer from Asperger Syndrome and putting food service times on the boards outside would give other people with the condition confidence about this pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

A truely fab place. Service was sooo friendly and we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Food beautiful with home cooked scrummy chips and local beef. A lovely experience!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemukujam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have just spent a few days in this charming village pub which also has accommodation and I can certainly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean and some overlook the river, the home made food is wonderful - especially the steak and ale pie. Grahame and Jayne are lovely "mein hosts" and make you feel very welcome as do the locals.

The pub overlooks the River Wye and there are lots of things to do - canoeing, walking, cycling and the nearby town off Haye on Wye is famous for its books shops. It is ideally situated for visiting Brecon, Haye and Hereford. I will certainly be visiting The Harp Inn again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is twin bedded in the attic with ensuite facilities and is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

and very very mucky when we arrived after a 6 hour bike ride in the driving rain from Llangurig, and we could not have been given a warmer welcome. The hotel, host / manager (?), staff, rooms, food and locals could not have been nicer. If the occasion arises I would definitely return. Fantastic spot, which I am sure would be even nicer in the sunshine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A warm welcome and fantastic, unpretentious, delicious food (Talgarth steak was mouthwateringly tender; steak & Wye Valley ale pie was packed with beef & topped with home made shortcrust). We were here for a weekend walking, and stayed one night B&B: our double room (no.2) was spotlessly clean and comfy, with a view down to the river, and there's nothing like a full Welsh/English breakfast to get you up the hills! You could stay in Hay and pay twice as much, or come here and enjoy this great, traditional local inn, with well-kept real ales and a friendly host.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandCarrie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasbury-on-Wye
3.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
192 reviews
3.7 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#4 of 7 in Talgarth
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp Inn

Property: The Harp Inn
Address: A4350 to Hay on Wye | Glasbury on Wye, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harp Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country Inn. Rooms, traditional pub food, locally sourced and made on the premises. Friendly atmosphere with musical events and local society meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harp Inn Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing