We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and loved it. Really friendly people, good dinner menu a comfortable room with all the right facilities and a good choice of hearty cooked breakfast though would suggest asking for no added salt to the scrambled eggs if you prefer less. A roaring log fire in winter would have made this even more romantic but it was warm enough with the provided heating. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
83
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very friendly staff with fantastic service, looked things up on the internet to find us some live local music, lovely room had everything we needed.
The food was some of the best I have ever tasted and we had a couple of meals here, it's quite apparent the chef takes great pride in his job and what he puts on the plate,
Breakfasts where just like the evening meal to a very high standard and super fast delivery by very polite efficient staff.
My only negative would be wifi is only in the bar and not the rooms, however we really enjoyed our stay in a very hospitable establishment.
Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in the barn albeit lovely you can hear people walking around every time they get out of be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spur of the moment booking - stayed for 1 night. The room had a double bed which was clean and comfortable although the room was on the small side. Had a very nice meal, pleasant and attentive staff and an enjoyable breakfast the following morning (I think we may have been the only guests staying!). Spent the morning in Hay-on-Wye then a tour in a coal mine before heading home. A lovely B&B in an idyllic setting, will definitely try to return in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debonnaire2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for a weekend with a bunch of old work chums. The surrounding countryside is delightful with east access to Hay and Brecon which are both worth a visit. Don't both with Hereford apart from the Cathedral. The lodge has some very nice rooms, the food was excellent although the
wine list was a rather restricted. Service was great and the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The price with B&B and evening meal was most reasonable. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have eaten here four times now and each time the food has been excellent! The staff are attentive and very polite. The food is well presented and seasonal. The restaurant very comfortable with plenty of space between each table. There are no worries with car parking which is a concern in some places. Why have not more people found this little gem a hidden treasure? It is within easy access to Hay-on-Wye, why not make a weekend of it? We will most certainly be back>

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14MEG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at this lodge. It was lovely, very relaxing, great food and the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was cosy and warm. The lodge had great character and made me feel relaxed. Would recommend this lodge and definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went on a stag weekend and stayed here for 2 nights staff were very pleasant and helpful, we had the cottage and was very pleased that it had a private lounge,the food was excellent arrived quickly and was of good quality, the bar staff were great and we all got on well with them, we used the black mountain activities which were excellent and picked us up and dropped us back to the lodge. very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasbury-on-Wye
0.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 22 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Property: Black Mountain Lodge
Address: The Black Mountain Lodge, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5PT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest part of this lovely old traditional stone building is believed to date back to the 17th century. Set in its own grounds with ample free parking and located at the foothills of the Black Mountains, it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and breathtaking views. With its relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms, it lends itself perfectly for those wishing to visit the area to take part in outdoor activities or for those who just want to "get away from it all" and maybe visit the famous town of books Hay on Wye, with its antiques & book shops and its literary festival held in May, or visit the quaint market town Brecon to join in with its Jazz festival in August or walk the Brecon Beacons, then there is the Royal Welsh Show in July, in Builth Wells. The lodge has its own lounge bar, providing local and international beers and wines. A cosy restaurant with a delicious a la-carte menu serving seasonal local produce, which all makes for a great dining experience. You are welcome to join us for as long or as short as you like, we cater for individuals, parties, families and corporate groups, offering everything from budget shared accommodation through to deluxe four poster bedroom. The deluxe room has a four poster bed, tea/coffee felicity, 32" flat screen TV, sofa and an en-suite to die for! All other rooms except for budget rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Lodge Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing