We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, diolch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrhyndeudraeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenallt Guest House
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, diolch”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Despite it being nearly Christmas and our hosts being very busy with decorating their front room before family arriving, they gave us the usual thoughtful care and attention, wonderful cooking and all facilities, and were incredibly flexible when needed. I think this is our 4th visit - all the others have been in summer, but we had just as good a time there in a stormy winter week. A really exceptional B&B. It makes a very comfortable and spacious 'home base' from which to explore or re-visit the area.

Room Tip: We were a group of friends this time, using a twin room and a single room - both were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed october 2013 what a lovely bed n breakfast the room was spotilessly clean we has the glas room double wow veiws were brill the room is so big sittee arm chair free bottles of water plenty of tea coffee and other teas home made biscuits and flap jack lovely treats bathroom is big to full bath and shower bed was most comfortable breakfast is fabulous pipeing hot and sarah and ian are very friendly lovely people we will defo be going back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located a short walk from both the mainline station and the Ffestniog steam railway, the Wenallt is an outstanding option. I spent a few days here at the start of September and couldn't have had a better time. Ian and Sarah were outstanding hosts who made me feel really welcome and respected and it was a genuine pleasure to have been a guest.

The accommodation was particularly comfortable; all beautifully furnished en-suite rooms with Freeview TV and generous hospitality trays (the home-made flapjacks were delicious!). Breakfast is amazing, in fact it's up there with the best that I've had in any guest house - It really set me up for some wonderful country and coastal walks and it was great to have received so much help and assistance in planning my day-trips. I fulfilled a long-held ambition to visit Portmeirion during my visit and I have to say it was superb :).

There's a lovely garden at the guest house and there are plenty of eating options in the nearby village, all of which I found very impressive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wenallt to anybody looking for friendly and professional service and above all excellent bed and breakfast accommodation in a convenient location. The number of guests returning is clearly testament to it's popularity - I simply couldn't fault it. A well deserved 5 stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a thoroughly enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend at Wenallt, with our charming hosts Sarah & Ian Hartill in Penrhyndeudrath, North Wales. The property was ideally situated for our planned visits to Portmerion, the Welsh Highland Railway and the lovely beaches of Porthmadog. The property is in a village with local amenities but is quiet enough to enjoy a relaxing time and get a comfortable nights sleep. The property itself is old and quirky with nice views from the two double rooms. Both rooms are large and comfortable, with large beds, sofas and modern bathrooms. They offer lots of little extra including nice bath products, homemade biscuits, bottled water, fans for the summer and hot water bottles for the winter.
The breakfast is excellent. Plenty of choice to start with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and juices followed by virtually any combination of cooked breakfast. The produce used was local and tasty and cooked to perfection. Top marks Sarah!
If we are visiting the area again we will certainly revisit Wenallt and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friends and I stayed for four nights from August 7th. We were warmly met by Sarah and Ian who run the quest house. After a friendly chat Sarah showed us to our rooms, and then brought us mugs up as she remembered us from last year. I was in room "Rhos" (they all have welsh names embroided on the door), a different room to last years visit. It was light and airy and very clean. The bed was a twin (the single room being taken) and was very comfy and clean. Towels in the bathroom were nice and fluffy. The brewing facilities were excellent with decaf and normal coffee, two types of tea and hot chocolate. Fresh milk is available upon request. The full english breakfast was very tasty which set us up for the day. We used the guest house for touring the narrow gauge railways in the area and found it conveniently situated. All in all an excellent place to stay. We will return again next year hopefully

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41HighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is really fantastic. Nothing can be faulted. The rooms have every facility you could require, and puts a lot of highly priced hotels in the shade. The breakfast was one of the best I have tasted for a long time.
It goes without saying that Ian and Sarah were perfect hosts always there, but never intrusive. In future when in the area I will always stay there for first choice. Also it is incredible value for money
I can do nothing but thoroughly recommend it.

Steve Wood

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 692Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is an excellent Guest House and deserves to be recommended. The service of the proprietors was first class, catering was fine and they were knowledgeable concerning facilities in the area. The house is a building of character with graciously proportioned rooms, well furnished with an eye to detail. Ensuite was excellent, bed comfortable, easy chairs and TV, and tea/coffee etc provided together with home made biscuits. The house is situated in an area of spectacular beauty, also close to Portmeirion and the Ffestiniog Railway. We liked best the ambience of the bedroom. Our only reservation was that we did not find fresh fruit or prunes or bran on the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenallt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenallt Guest House

Property: Wenallt Guest House
Address: Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6PW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenallt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VisitWales 4 star Guest House. Our family-run B&B is less than 2 miles from Portmeirion and is Steam Railway Magazine's "Best B&B for Ffestiniog Railway"(station 10 minutes walk). Spacious, well-equipped double, twin or single rooms, all en-suite with comfortable seating, digital Freeview TVs, beverage trays and period features. Delicious traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with views over Penrhyndeudraeth to estuary and mountains beyond. Quality accommodation at great value. Discounts for longer stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing