We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant 4star treatment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrhyndeudraeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenallt Guest House
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, being pampered in a lovely large room. Nothing was too much trouble for Ian and Sarah. The fact that they are railway enthusiasts, like us, was an added bonus. The little things like wash supplies and drink sachets, constantly refilled.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on the 26th and 27th July this year. We followed the directions on the map we'd been supplied and after a minor detour we arrived at the B&B about an hour before check in time. Ian saw us out the window and came out and showed us to our room. It was large and airy with 2 windows with good views over the village. There is a large comfortable bed, double settee, plenty of tea and coffee and a good sized ensuite.The breakfast was excellent. The B&B is a short walk to the town centre which has a good Indian restaurant, The Lemon Tree and a nice man in the Post Office. The B&B is an ideal base for visiting Portmeirion (10 mins), Porthmadog (15 mins) and Snowdonia ( 30 mins). Ian and Sarah are excellent hosts and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed Monday to Friday at Wenallt. Both Ian & Sarah welcomed us on arrival and showed us our rooms. My room was large and airy with nice views, and very clean. Teas, coffee, and hot chocolate were provided in the room. There was also a bath and shower with modern controls. A variety of eco friendly soaps, shampoo etc was on offer if required in the bathroom.
The full breakfast looked very nice although I had the porridge which was just right, after having the grapefruit and melon balls first. Toast and marmalade, a nice touch was the butter and marmalade did not come in packets, but was served fresh each day so you could have as little or much as was required.
My friends and I could not fault Wenallt and we enjoyed our stay very much, coming back each day to find the room cleaned and homemade biscuits left for us (well done Sarah). We would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41HighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Have just spent 3 nights at Wenallt Guest House and fully endorse all the previous positive reviews. Ian and Sarah seem to have thought of all the things anyone could ever want from a guest house and then provided them. Their thoughtfulness was reflected in every aspect of our stay. Our room was spacious, very comfortable, spotless and more than a home from home. In fact, it was better than our own bedroom and we wish we could have brought it home with us! Breakfast offered a wide choice of well cooked food in quantities that would satisfy even the hugest appetite. Very friendly hosts made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TC1Folkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our sons stayed at Wenallt last year and told us it was really good. We stayed for 3 nights in July and completely agree with them. We had a large twin room with a view out over the village to the river and mountains. The room was clean and very comfortable. We were offered fresh milk to make tea and there were home made flapjacks. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJLKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came up to North Waleso the week, having booked in already to Wenallt, and we were not disappointed. The Guest House was in a fantastic location, our room overlooked the vilage and the river and mountains beyond. It was incredibly clean and spacious with our own sitting area to relax in. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and had great knowledge about the surrounding area. Breakfast was delicious, out highlight of the day and the homemade biscuits and flapjack were a treat to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stopped for a long weekend and used as a base for travelling to portmerion, Snowdon and Harlech The house is in a good location with off road, covered parking. The room was spacious, with a good view, comfy bed and clean bathroom. Excellent tasty breakfasts with planty of toast, coffee etc.. Owners were really friendly and helpful, with a good knowledge of the local area. Would definately stop there again.

Thanks for a great holiday.

Rob and Ruth :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnsignElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
0.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenallt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenallt Guest House

Address: Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6PW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenallt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VisitWales 4 star Guest House. Our family-run B&B is less than 2 miles from Portmeirion and is Steam Railway Magazine's "Best B&B for Ffestiniog Railway"(station 10 minutes walk). Spacious, well-equipped double, twin or single rooms, all en-suite with comfortable seating, digital Freeview TVs, beverage trays and period features. Delicious traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with views over Penrhyndeudraeth to estuary and mountains beyond. Quality accommodation at great value. Discounts for longer stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing