We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guest house I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wenallt Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrhyndeudraeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenallt Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best guest house I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at the Wenallt guesthouse as we were attending a friends wedding in Portmeirion, which is just down the road.
The room was huge - with a really large bathroom as well. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. We were made to feel really welcome.
Also the breakfast as fantastic. My boyfriend and I are both vegetarians are were catered for really well. Often veggie breakfast can be a bit of an afterthought for B&Bs, but not here.
In the room was left some homemade shortbread biscuits - which were delicious!
They could not have done more.
We could definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMissy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Only stayed two nights here but the experience was one I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area. The bedroom and en suite bathroom were spotless. The bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and substantial. We were made to feel very welcome and if I found myself back in the area I wouldn't hesitate to book with the Wenalt again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbylove25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley Regis, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Wenallt for 4 days as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday in Wales (we had stayed in Snowdonia for our honeymoon so we were hoping for an replay!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our hosts Sarah and Ian were friendly and welcoming without being obtrusive in any way. Our twin room ("Rhosyn") was huge and had an armchair and sofa enabling us to take in the panoramic views over the village and estuary towards Harlech. The room had a comprehensive 'Welcome Pack' which included the history of the house and even the room. Breakfast was excellent and had a variety of options to suit all tastes and appetites. I had told my wife that I would not have the full breakfast everyday but I quickly succumbed when I saw the quality if it - ingredients are sourced locally. Ian's service at breakfast was friendly and very efficient.
We travelled on the Ffestiniog Railway and the Wenallt is very convenient for the line as it is only a short ten minutes walk away from Penrhyn station on the line towards Blanaeu Festiniog. We had a great stay and felt thoroughly at home. Thank you so much Sarah and Ian - we hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: The house is high on a hill off the B4085 Beddgelert road so some rtooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesW_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a large twin room with very comfortable beds, a sofa and chair and lovely views out of the 2 windows. The room was very clean and we had lovely white towelling robes in the shower room. The homemade shortbread biscuits on the tea/coffee tray are delicious.
Sarah and Ian have a good knowledge of the local area. We will return when we are next in the area. There is a good choice for Breakfast which was served in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshLady010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We showed up late after a long day of touring around. We were given a very warm welcome and helped with our gear. THe rooms are large, well maintained, and very comfortable. There were home made treats on the tea table that went down very nicely. Breakfast was excellent and our hosts hospitable. Parking was not an issue either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

A friendly welcome from one of the owners who walked me up to the room which was very big and spacious, spotlessly clean and with comfy soft carpets underfoot. Lots of little touches like homemade biscuits (yum) and a very helpful guide to the local area. The breakfast in the morning was the best I have ever had at a B&B or hotel - absolutely delicious locally sourced food.
A great stay! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Just spent 5 nights at Wenallt a lovely short break food excellent would recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forderTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brynllydan Country Guest House
Brynllydan Country Guest House
#2 of 2 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#2 of 6 in Talsarnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenallt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenallt Guest House

Property: Wenallt Guest House
Address: Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6PW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenallt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VisitWales 4 star Guest House. Our family-run B&B is less than 2 miles from Portmeirion and is Steam Railway Magazine's "Best B&B for Ffestiniog Railway"(station 10 minutes walk). Spacious, well-equipped double, twin or single rooms, all en-suite with comfortable seating, digital Freeview TVs, beverage trays and period features. Delicious traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with views over Penrhyndeudraeth to estuary and mountains beyond. Quality accommodation at great value. Discounts for longer stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing