We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every thing you need in a holiday cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bodorwel Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodorwel Holiday Cottage
Cosy Lounge Bedroom One - includes travel cot on request
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Bodorwel Holiday Cottage
Cosy Lounge
Bedroom One - includes travel cot on request
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two view
The train set!
Winter breaks available
Who needs to leave the garden?
Welcome - Croeso
Mature garden
Down train
Porthmadog 5 minutes
Porthmadog harbour 5 minutes
Portmeirion - 5 minutes
Porthmadog/Caenarfon - Welsh Highland Railway 5 minutes (Porthmadog)
Aberglaslyn - Beddgelert 15 minutes
Pub on the beach - Portdinllein 30 minutes
Bodnant Gardens 45 minutes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penrhyndeudraeth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every thing you need in a holiday cottage.”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely personal e-mails on booking, on arrival there was provisions and essentials.which gave a warm welcome to a very comfortable cottage.
Beds were very comfortable ,lounge had lots of books and music to look through as well as TV and radios.
Garden was lovely to sit in in evenings and the trains ran by with drivers giving friendly waves.last train at 6 00 so gave a quite evening. .
We liked the cosy and relaxed feel to the cottage. And the practical use of a washing machine as we were caught in a heavy shower ,which helped wash and dry three sets of clothes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome packs ,comfortable beds,quiet location,
Liked least: travel on Friday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Brian and Margaret,

Thank you so much for your very detailed and thorough review explaining exactly how your stay was. Hopefully people will have all the information they need to make that decision.

Natasha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowsje
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Super location for lots of family activities, cottage clean and well equipped. Lovely log fire and a great base to explore this stunning area.highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a lovely week based at this cottage to celebrate my train enthusiast son's tenth birthday. It was ideally situated for visiting local railways especially when the steam train went past the garden. Beautiful well established garden, well equipped house. The refreshing welcome well appreciated. All in all a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safiay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautiful cottage had absolutely everything we needed and more...as if it wasn't enough to have the beautiful Ffestiniog Railway in your own backyard! Very, very comfortable and relaxing after a day's sightseeing, or the perfect hideaway for a day inside out of the rain. Perfectly situated for many of the steam railways in the area, a stone's throw from Portmeiron and so much of what is on offer in the area. Quiet, peaceful neighbourhood with a steam train station a minute walk away. Thank you Natasha and David - please don't change a thing. Your welcome, information and care were much appreciated and the final touches on a a very special week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, incredible views, Festiniog train going past!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A
1 review
“Great house and location”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for Snowdonia, the coast and the obligatory railways - you get great up-close views of the Ffestiniog line from the garden.

We visited with our 8 month old son so we had to move a few bits of furniture to make it safe for him. But it was a huge help having a high chair and travel cot available.

Everything was spotless when we arrived and the kitchen is well stocked with pans and utensils so cooking for the week was easy. The owners left fresh flowers, milk and some local beers for our arrival which was a really lovely touch.

Only things to be aware of are that the property has a shower only and no bath, and that parking outside is tight and might be tricky if you have a large car or you're a new driver! Minor points though.

Overall - lovely warm and cosy house in a great location with thoughtful and considerate owners. We'd definitely recommend and consider a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHeid...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, welcoming cottage with a garden in the railway!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Bodorwel was well described and very welcoming with friendly guidance for getting the best out of the accommodation, including wood for the burner on the winter evenings. The Ffestiniog Railway on the stone embankment directly behind was wonderful. Despite having stayed many times in the area before, this was our first in Penrhyndeudreth. We took advantage of the additional FR rover tickets, and the village amenities. Great location for various locations around Snowdonia, there is always something more to do, or updates/revisits of old favourites. There was some provisions awaiting us, such as milk and Purple Moose (Porthmadog) beer, really nice touches. The bedding included feather stuffing, I usually take my own pillow along, but I forgot this time so used those provided comfortably. If we had any concerns we had contact details, but not needed. Our family of three found it very comfortable. We will be back. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home, with an amazing view”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Peaceful, wonderful cottage with everything you could possibly need.... Even tea towels and a flask!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area. We took full advantage of the Ffestiniog railway and used it almost everyday to get where we needed. My children were amazed at the 'steamy' that passed by on a regular basis (which doesn't run at night.... So good sleep is ensured). We had a wonderful week and would definitely revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place
Liked least: Feather duvets (allergic)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing