We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Fabulous Cottage!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Idris Bach

Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
The Lounge. Roomy with plenty of entertainment facilities. KItchen / Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Take a seat on the upper terrace of the garden, gaze out and enjoy the wonderful view.
The Lounge. Roomy with plenty of entertainment facilities.
KItchen / Diner
Incredible comfortable kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheet and goose down duvet.
Snuggle up with your partner on the cuddle chair in the lounge or keep it for yourself.
Idris Bach and The View.
Lounge
Garden and summerhouse.
Stable door to access garden from dining area.
Estuary beach - approximately 10-15mins walk from Idris Bach.
Bedroom
Lower terrace of the garden.
View from the Kitchen / Diner.
Front of cottage and view.
View
Railway station a few minutes walk up the road.
Bathroom with walk-in shower.
Close-up view from garden.
Estuary
Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penrhyndeudraeth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smith_HQ
Isleham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Cottage!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully refurbished quarryman cottage. Spotless and welcoming. Central to all the main locations of North Wales; it's stone's throw from Porthmadog, Portmeirion, and Harlech - within walking distance of the Festinog Railway,and with the most stunning views of the Welsh mountains! I don't think we've ever had such a relaxing holiday.
Would we stay again? OH Yes!!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the little things - like the pint of milk in the fridge on arrival
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L
Highbridge, Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, cosy, comfortable Victorian Miners' Cottage”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed for a week in January and despite the weather outside being cold it was warm and cosy and comfortable. It is just a short step to many walks with outstanding views and being on the edge of Snowdonia is a convenient base for many more walks, places of interest and activities. The facilities are very modern including wifi and there was both a bottle of milk and a bottle of wine to welcome us on arrival. We'll be going again!

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - ease of access to stunning walks in and around Snowdonia.
Liked least: Minor issue: car parking.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Kent uk
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our stay at Idris Bach was great. The quiet relaxed atmosphere of the cottage set in the most stunning scenery made for a wonderful break.
The cottage was warm and cosy with the traditional look we love yet kitted out with all mod cons inside. We enjoyed relaxing in the lounge watching the TV on rainy days and had fun cooking in the kitchen diner while on sunny days we took trips out to local sites. Most importantly of all A REALLY LOVELY BIG COMFORTABLE BED!
We really enjoyed the outside space too sipping wine in the summer house into the evening. We felt so much consideration had gone in to making us comfortable it was hard to leave!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: dining space, wi-fi and tv and the rustic beauty of the building.
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OncomingT...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very happy repeat customer”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This is now my third stay and my second successive November. So I've experienced how the property handles in both Summer and the darker months.
As a chronic asthmatic, I am also qualified to comment on allergenic issues. I have found the bed and the other furnishings to be extremely comfortable and have never needed to resort to special requests in this matter. My experience of North Wales in wet weather is that the damper days can leave one short of breath. The house does not add to the burden on one's lungs. It does need to be warmed through upon arrival in the winter months, as with anywhere in the countryside, but I find it hard to recognise the damp and mould described by Carol W. There is none that I could see.
This place keeps drawing me back. I've spent very active times here and also done absolutely nothing and, in either case, been very content. Its location allows one to head off somewhere special with little planning. At the same time, the commanding views across the bay are very rewarding in all conditions, so staying indoors is never tiresome. Decisions, decisions - I look forward to more of the same next year.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where to start? How about location? Very easy to reach and use as an exploring base by public transport. Very thoughtful setup all round.
Liked least: Having to go away again.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol w
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful - Worst holiday cottage experience in 30 years!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage booked for last week in August.. Property suffers from an extensive damp problem which is evident from the terrible smell as soon as you walk through the door.

There is mould throughout the property making it unsuitable for those with asthma or other respirtory issues. When challenged the landlord stated that damp is to be expected in a Welsh Cottage and is "perfectly acceptable". He thinks that he should only disclose the damp problem if asked' at the point of booking.

Decor is of a generally poor standard. The property is situated on a narrow road only wide enough for one vehicle and there is no parking within a reasonable distance.

The damp and mould were so bad that we were unable to stay at the property and left within an hour.

Although lanlord admits the damp problem exists only a minimal refund was made.

BE WARNED - This property is not rated or regulated by the Tourist Board. This is the worst property we have ever visited.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: The smell of damp and mould
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2012
Although this is an old stone property, there is not an extensive damp problem. We have a dehumidifier running downstairs to ensure this. After a lot of rain, you may see a patch of damp in the entrance hall by the front door, as this small hallway is not heated and is on an outside wall. There is a draught excluder on the inside door from this hall into the living room to keep the house warm and cosy.

-----------------------------------------------------

When they arrived at the property and were unhappy, we asked the guests what was wrong, the lady just kept repeating that she didn't like the property and asking for a refund. When we spoke to her again an hour or so later she wasn't much more forthcoming and couldn't explain what the problem was, apart from the fact that there are wheelie bins outside and the slightly rusty letterbox made the property "tacky" and "not as described in the listing" (the front door, including the letterbox has since been re-painted). Only a few days later when they called asking for a refund did they complain about damp, and the husband claimed that he has asthma. We commented that if his asthma was really bad, and given the possibility of damp in old cottages in North Wales, it might have been a good idea to ask about this before booking a cottage. We offer hypo-allergenic duvets and pillows to guests if required and he had not requested those. We did not say that damp is acceptable, although it is indeed common. Given that the husband had mentioned a different Tourist Board-rated 5-star property that they had also been considering booking, we could not help but form the impression that they had simply booked the wrong one, and when they arrived they realised their mistake, they contrived a complaint in order to demand their money back. We gave a substantial refund as a goodwill gesture, which we were assured by our legal advisors was more than generous in the circumstances, and this malicious review is clearly their response to our not caving to their demands for a full refund plus their travel expenses!

-----------------------------------------------------

The road is narrow but is perfectly wide enough for two cars to pass. You can park directly beside the front door to unload, and parking is less than 100yds walk from the cottage.

-----------------------------------------------------

When the reviewer complained on arrival that she was not happy with the property, it was apparent that her husband had booked the cottage, and she was labouring under the impression that the cottage had a 5-star rating from the Tourist Board, which we have never claimed. We believe perhaps they were confused as we had 5-stars on our Trip Advisor review rating. We are proud that everyone who has stayed has been really happy with the cottage as you can see from the other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame L
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage, good views, sun terrace - great base for exploring area”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just back from a v enjoyable time based in this comfortable terrace cottage. It's on side of a hill in large village location and arranged on three floors, with sunny terrace outside - catches sun (sun willing!) for much of the day. Well equipped property, and Freesat TV and wi fi all worked fine. This is a fantastic area if you're fairly active sort of folk. Plenty of walks, castles, mountains, beaches and coast paths to explore. A forest trail network starts 10 mins walk away. A passing interest in steam railways may also be helpful (!) as there are two tourist lines in the area, with one close by (station just up the road). Portmeirion village (sort of shopping and 'Prisoner' TV series theme park) is close by. Nearby estuary is good for birdwatchers, and RSPB Afon Glaslyn osprey reserve is local too. It's a more picturesque area than I'd imagined (and we've been to Snowdonia area a couple of times before), especially if you're prepared to go off the beaten track a bit. Idris Bach is a good base for the whole of this part of N Wales I would say.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wide range of leaflets, guides and maps to borrow. Bed and living room all v comfortable. Owner provided a guitar. Views across the valley from living room and terrace outside.
Liked least: Car parking - can't really park outside to unload as road is too narrow. Parking on lane up the hill is OK but you may have to hunt for a space at busy times, but was not a problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsFrogTr...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little cottage worth roaring about”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were in dire need of a holiday. Idris Bach ticked all the right boxes - comfortable, quiet, friendly, beautiful surroundings, plenty of day trips nearby but also perfect for relaxing 'at home'.

Throw in the Ivor the engine links (The episode with Idris the Dragon is a childhood fav. of mine!) and I was hooked.

Alex provided outstanding directions to the cottage, and when we arrived we found a pint of milk in the fridge, mugs, tea bags, welshcakes, wine and wine glasses set out for us on the dining table. What a perfect start.

The cottage is very comfortable, and we soon felt settled. It is situated on three levels, you come in off the street into the lounge, upstairs and you have the bedroom & Bathroom, downstairs takes you to the kitchen & utility room, and then out in to the garden/patio terraces.

The village itself is very small and quiet - the local pubs weren't our cup of tea - but a quick drive to Porthmadog and there is an excellent brewery with brewery shop which kept us happy. The local butcher is fantastic - seriously some of the best lamb chops we've had - worth noting though that it isn't open on a Monday and closes very early. The local spar stocks all the essentials though and is open late. The Y Ring pub is a lovely walk (2 miles?)and the food is lovely.

Idris Bach is the perfect base from which to explore the locality - plenty of walks from your doorstep, and plenty more a short drive away. Very close by is the station for the steam train to Blenau Ffestiniog -absolutely stunning and great fun. (yes I did do Ivor the Engine impressions "pusssshhhhht-akum pussshhhhhhhht-akum"). There is a little chest / footstool in the lounge which is full of all the tourist informationb/ guides / maps / walking books you could possibly need.

we could very happily have stayed longer than the 6 nights we were there, and will be making a return visit at some point.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing