We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
12
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cockles antique furniture fresh welsh cakes great shower old vicarage home made cakes guest house perfect location cooked breakfast one night estuary snowdonia bed accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

The house is a victorian house beautifully restored and furnished to a very high standard with period pieces.
We stayed in the back room , which is very quiet and has stunning views . Unfortunately it has a separate bathroom , so you have to don a robe ( provided) to use it . The bathroom is fantastic and well appointed but I personally don't like having to go into the corridor to use it and would not have had that room if I had known . The other room in the front is fully en-suite.
Breakfast was good , with nice selection and cooked to order . The full breakfast is fab , the eggs and salmon not to my taste, but there is something for everyone . What I'm not so keen on is the shared table so you end up at a single table with other guests - again not for me I like some privacy and you don't get that on a shared table .
there isn't a guest lounge, but you can use the dining room if you like.
MIrain was very pleasant and made us feel welcome . This is a family home and there are small children , so if you don't want to hear babies crying this might not be for you .
Ample parking and easy to find .
Penrhyn is easy walking to the FFestiniog railway and Portmerion . Good local taxi service . Porthmadog very close and short drive . There is nothing to do in Penrhyn, one very good indian restaurant, a couple of takeaways and a pub that serves locals and not food . Again if you want to pop out for the evening you will have to drive as Penrhyn has very little to offer .

Room tip: The back room v quiet, fab views, separate bathroom. Front room ensuite not so quiet and views not so good
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 463pkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 24, 2017

Dear Tricia,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We were impressed that you were able to say 3 nights without moving your car.
We are however disappointed with some of the comments especially as your husband Stewart (on departure) noted that we were the best B&B that he had stayed in –‘ even better than a 5* hotel’.
The Moelwyn room which you stayed in has a separate (large and luxurious) bathroom is only 1.5 metres form the bedroom and located on a private landing/corridor. There is also a wash basin in the bedroom, therefore we don’t see this as a problem as we also provide robes.
The dining room (Glaslyn room) table sits 6, therefore there is a gap in the middle between the 2 couples for breakfast. If you had noted this issue during your stay, then we would have had an opportunity to rectify it and set up a separate table for you. The Glaslyn room is also available for guests as a lounge with comfy tub chairs and plenty of reading material and even games.
We are a B&B Guest House and a family home and we allow the children freedom during the day, and do not expect guests to be in their bedroom in the afternoon – If we had known that you were present, we would have made sure that the children were quiet – therefore we apologize for the noise on this particular day.
There is plenty to do in Penrhyndeudraeth especially walking, sightseeing and is full of history. Penrhyndeudraeth has some fantastic views of the Dwyryd estuary – from top of the village near the Ffestiniog Highland railway station, to the Old Cookes works which is now a Wildlife Trust park above the Dwyryd river, and there is an old harbour along the Dwyryd river where slate used to come down from Blaenau Ffestiniog. Also you can even walk on the estuary itself and see Harlech castle, Ynys Gifftan and Portmeirion at the far end. Maps are available in the Glaslyn room.
Penrhyndeudaeth is a village with a variety of eating outlets and a Spar grocer shop and the café is open as a restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings. Work is going ahead to open a bistro at the old Griffin Hotel in the square and are expected to be open in the near future. The closest town is Porthmadog (3 miles away) is easily reached by walking, cycling, train, bus or taxi – all available nearby. You can also walk to Portmeirion village easily within 30min.
I hope that we can welcome you to Taldraeth again in the future, with best wishes, Mirain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

Was warmly welcomed by Miriam as I arrived late. I stayed in the Cnicht bedroom (named after a local mountain) was beautifully decorated with carefully selected period features in a wonderful Victorian vicarage which has been lovingly restored. Great breakfast in the dining room with a log burning fire... local and home made produce which set me up for the day.
Could only stay one night unfortunately but will be back. Diolch yn fawr am y croeso.

Room tip: house is in a very quiet setting
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GarethLlewelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 24, 2017

Dear Gareth,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your brief stay in the Cnicht room and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay some other time. Best wishes - cofion cynnes Mirain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for a weekend and enjoying the beauty and comfort of Mirain and Geraint's home. They were such welcoming hosts and we had a wonderful time exploring the Welsh countryside. The home itself is absolutely stunning and we'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank 1982_EMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 24, 2017

Dear Erin,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back some other time. Best wishes Mirain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay at Taldraeth - this place is a real find. The house itself is stunning and the room was really luxurious. The location is also stunning - beautiful views aplenty and lots to do in the area. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stacey-Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 24, 2017

Dear Stacy,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back some other time. Best wishes Mirain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews