We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a trip back to the 60s with none of the good bits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brynllydan Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Lampeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like a trip back to the 60s with none of the good bits”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

If you think Egg Mayonaise & Corn on the cob are starters in the 21st century , youll love it! An hour & forty minutes wait for so so sunday lunch with surely waiting staff ans soggy pastry on the apple pie. The coffee was a no show But the rudeness from the manager was there in plenty. Not so much retro but backwards. Simply not good enough. PLaces like this give Wales a bad name.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CymruAmBythLampeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynllydan, Owner at Brynllydan Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
This unpleasant customer arrived without booking in advance during an extremely busy period.

The starters were served within 25 minutes of ordering, with the main meal being served shortly after the starters being cleared.

All our food is cooked to order and a slight delay is sometimes inevitable during busy times.

Although many other customers that day enjoyed the Apple Pie, we offered to swap the dish for an alternative but this was turned down.

The comments regarding the staff are clearly spiteful and inaccurate.

The "no show" coffees were being served to the table while the customer was leaving as they did not have the courtesy to inform the waiting staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taff's Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Hidden down a windy country lane - the welcome we received when arriving earlier than advised was great. Colleen had already advised us of travel details( sat nav ) before we arrived and when we got there she quickly made us welcome. The lounge/ din ing room area is in keeping with the area - clean& well presented with fantastic local prints on the wall. The food was fantastic - the best bouef bourginon this side of the channel and next day a really well preapred full breakfast. Ideally located for both Snowden & Portmeirion/ Harlech. Will use again if in the area. Thanks Colleen

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geocam146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynllydan, Owner at Brynllydan Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. It was nice to meet you both and I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Colleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

What more could you ask for?
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food amazing, staff v friendly and the views stunning.
Will be back

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and myself are very fortunate to find great food accommodation in one place not having to leave a hotel to find decent food adds to your break . We found Coleen and mike not forgetting all their staff helpful beYond what we have become accustom too on other breaks ,food is alacart or set menu plus specials a true delight . Phone number stored in
My phone for a treat break

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 970man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

having just stayed at the brynllydan hotel we have recommended to lots of friends ,the food is of top quality and so are the attentive staff with views of snowdon from your room ,all the other guests all told us they will return in future .we will certainley go back . a walkers paradise or a peaceful break

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I booked this hotel for a two night stay with my two young daughters, on contacting the hotel to make the booking i asked about a double room rate even though there were three of us, myself and two small children. I was told that we could have the room for the cost of two adults, that being £156.00
On paying the deposit and then turning up i was then told that there would be an extra charge of £20 as there would be an extra breakfast to provide for the two night stay, quite excessive as it was a child breakfast who only ate a piece of toast and a bowl of cereal.
The room was not as i expected and the accomodation block did have a musty smell to it. The room was very basic and not the cleanest. Had i have known there was a travel lodge in nearby Porthmadog i would have stayed there. The staff themselves were very nice and pleasant and the views are fantastic, but in that area they are fantastic where ever you are. Overall i do think i did not get anywhere near value for money and i would not reccomend this hotel to others

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynllydan, Owner at Brynllydan Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
A £10 per night surcharge was applied to this booking due to over-occupancy of a double room (1 extra person). We feel this is not an excessive charge to cover additional costs associated with accommodating an extra guest including towels, hot water and choice of cooked breakfast.

In order to prevent future confusion, our policy has been changed to not allow over-occupancy of rooms - a separate room must be now booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

It has become an annual pilgramage to the Brynllydan Hotel for my wife & I and our two friends. We first discovered this gem in June 2009, when we stayed for one night only, so this year we decided to return for three nights to enjoy the cosy friendly atmosphere, the marvellously accomodating proprietors Coleen & Mike and the superb culinary delights of the restauraunt. The rooms were always smartly presented, well turned out and very clean. (The only thing missing, is the hot tub that Coleen reckons she's been promised by Mike)!

We had decided to attempt to conquer Snowden during our trip and despite us arriving at 11.00 p.m. on Friday evening, Coleen welcomed us with a smile and poured us all a most welcome drink. When asked if we could store some drinks in thier fridge overnight, this was no problem and she even provided us with a packed lunch & two flasks of coffee to take with us.

The view from the hotel is stunning and when you look across the valley from the seating at the front of the hotel you could almost believe you were in Africa looking out across the Serengeti, with the back drop of the Snowdonia mountain range adding the finishing touches. The hotel is perfectly situated with Snowdonia 20 minutes away if you want a back packing adventure or Porthmadog 10 minutes away in the other direction if you want shops or the wonderfully relaxing Black Rock beach.

The restaurant is first class, the quality of the food is excellent and very reasonably priced, with a fairly extensive wine list.

Overall, a truly wonderful experience, I don't doubt for one minute we will be going back next year (maybe sooner) and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Try it out you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
658 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynllydan Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynllydan Country Guest House

Property: Brynllydan Country Guest House
Address: Penrhyndeudraeth | Porthmadog, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brynllydan Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run bed & breakfast Guest House is situated in seven acres of private grounds and is surrounded by the spectacular scenery of the Snowdonia National Park. Guests enjoy stunning views across the Vale of Glaslyn to some of the highest mountains in England and Wales including Mount Snowdon, while having nearby access to local towns, amenities and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Brynllydan Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing