We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”

St. Winefride's Well
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Holywell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

worth 40p visit, quite emotional place to visit nice and relaxing and sense of peace and calm. would visit again, felt a sense of been cleansed and chilled after our visit. i did not partake of a blessing or the waters but still a spiritual experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank d81186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    7
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really enjoyed this visit you must be prepared to read the history to benefit from this . Coffee shop nice and good access .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent calm place to visit, lovely surroundings, very peaceful, would visit again, also churchyard is very interesting, and would love to know the reason behind the sloping gravestones on the hill. Interesting all round

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stokepunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Wales
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A pilgrimage of friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this site as part of a walk around Greenfield Heritage Park.
Cost is only 80p for adults and worth learning about the history.
We did not partake of the waters! A bit cold for me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“visit to Holywell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

You don't need to be religious to visit this wonderful spiritual space, will be coming again many times

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Winefride's Well also viewed

 
Mold, Flintshire
Flint, Flintshire
 

Been to St. Winefride's Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing