We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Trip To North Wales”

Stamford Gate Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Holywell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Day Trip To North Wales”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We dropped into the Stamford Gate for lunch, it was very welcoming. The food was of a good standard and reasonably priced. The staff couldn't be nicer, if there was any downside to the luncheon, I would say it was the price of drink. Our order was for 3 types of soft drinks and it came to just under £10, that is quite steep. Other than that couldn't complain. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

24/01/13
Revisited and again cannot fault food and service.The only comment I would make is that I would like more exciting sweets.
Staff very good and the food was excellent

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cant fault it!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

As a regular customer here for good food I decided it was about time to give it some well deserved credit! Been here numerous times over 2012 for family birthday meals, romantic meals and a works christmas meal! I have never had a complaint about a meal or service! Even when it's at it's busiest you still get great quality meals!! Thanks Stamford gate!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiesha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have been going to here for 35 years on and off.We.went without booking on a week night.The waitress was young and very attentive.The food was very good and we each had a different main and sweet.The Stamford Gate has reinvented itself and we will keep going back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service. Will keep going back.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Stamford many times over the last few years and thought that it was about time we gave them a well deserved pat on the back. We last went on a Friday night, we did not book but there were plenty of tables available. Our order was taken at the table, and after a short time was served. We both had starters which were close to a main meal themselves. My wife had garlic bread with cheese which was really nice and enough for two. My prawn cocktail was of equal standard. For our main courses we had scampi which had the option of a smaller portion and my wife was glad she took that option after the large garlic baguette she had just eaten. I had the Stamford burger, to say it was good would be an understatement, try it yourself, you will see what I mean.
All in all this was the best meal we have had for a while, and would recommend the Stamford gate to anyone.
One final and very possitive note. All the staff are extremely pleasant and nothing seems to be to be to much trouble. It was a really nice experience to be served by people with a genuine smile and not to feel like you were spoiling their day. Well done to all from the bar staff, the waiting on staff and not forgetting the people in the kitchen. We will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cqtravel_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stamford Gate Hotel also viewed

Holywell, Flintshire
Holywell, Flintshire
 
Holywell, Flintshire
 

Been to Stamford Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing