We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and really good value”

Stamford Gate Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holywell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stamford Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holywell
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as we were attending a family function being held in Holywell. The room was quite spacious,extremely clean and confortable. The "common parts" ie. corridors and reception areas are a little tired and dated but overall the value for money and the extremely good pub-style food could not be faulted.

Room Tip: The rooms in the extension are away from the resteraunt and pub area so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

No reservation, 7PM arrival, carpark fairly full, we were afraid the hotel might be full. After a short wait at reception, we were given a nice double room for what we'd come to think of as 'good rate', about 60-65 GBP. Large quiet room, looked to have been newly redecorated, lovely view over fields. We think it was being updated as there were carpet samples in reception area. Breakfast was quite generous, plenty of choices. Staff very friendly, helpful. On check-out, drove around area a bit, very pretty, coastal highway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Totally recommend staying here!
I recently stayed with my son and husband while traveling across the UK.
The last available room was a double room however the manager (sarah - forgive me if that is incorrect) said it would be no trouble for her to arrange an extra bed for our son. We got the luggage out of the car and all was ready. Super service.
We also ate in the bar. The food was fabulous and we were offered a wide selection of British sauces. We were served by the manager who made us feel right at home!
The manager gave us some great information regarding the local area and even printed off a map.

We totally recommend the Stamford hotel and next time we are in the UK we definitely we stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMeanmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had lovely food in the pub area. staff very friendly/helpful especially the manager. we arrived late and quickly set up an extra bed for child.
Rooms ok, maybe needing little moderising but clean and comfortable all the same

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Went for an impromptu teatime meal i bar. The food is OK, the sauces on two of the meals were very runny, but tasted nice. The chips are called home made but we thought they were more like top end frozen. Staff really nice and friendly, service for food was quick but to pay was slow as only two staff to take food and drink orders. They are so near to be a great place to eat, but just not quite there. We also felt it is a bit expensive for pub meals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthWalesJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently moved to the area and knew no hotels or restaurants so when friends visited we decided to try the Stamford Gate. So glad we did as it is excellent. We have now been five times and every meal was a delight. The staff are so courteous and friendly. The food is always lovely and hot and nothing is too much trouble. We went the night before a funeral and the staff were amazing treating us as extra special guests which was very comforting at a sad time. We are happy to bring our visitors for a meal without worrying if it will be good or not. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Mave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a wonderful family meal on Easter Saturday evening. I have a disabled mum and dad and we were met by the manager who gave us a lovely table overlooking the sea. Him and his staff were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. There was 12 of us in the party ranging from 3 to 86 all had a great meal. I would recommend the Stamford to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetnIan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywell
1.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
487 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glan Yr Afon Inn
Glan Yr Afon Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphin
90 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#4 of 8 in Holywell
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Gate Hotel

Address: Halkyn Road, Holywell CH8 7SJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holywell
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing