We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value!”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“A great value!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Roosevelt was a great choice for me. Price was great. Wasnt a problem when i wanted to add a couple days to my stay. Rooms were clean. Cable could have been better but didnt go there to watch T.V. Breakfast was tasty!!!.Might want to try for room with balcony view was nice.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    100
    68
    29
    14
See reviews for
129
84
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Has everything you need at a very affordable price. Also in a great location. Attractions, food, and shops nearby. Could use some updating but overall in average shape. Would recommend to friends. Breakfast is nothing special but its food. Rooms are clean. Hot tub needs stronger Jets.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Roosevelt Inn is centrally located in Keystone near all the area attractions. The Inn sits at the base of Mt. Rushmore. The rooms are clean and the staff are very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast is not five star but does provide enough to get your day started. All in all they provide a nice room with a balcony for a decent price. Close to all the highways and roads needed to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer Park, Black Hills and Rushmore Cave. We would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Place is conveniently close to Mt. Rushmore (5 min. away from site!!!!!). The room had a funky smell but not bad as those cheap motels. Other than that the one issue I had is the microwave being in the hall rather than in the room itself (I had a standard room). The fridge was a HUGE plus!

If your stay is exclusive to visit Rushmore & nearby areas (Custer & Crazy Horse, etc) and if your day is to be spent mostly outside, then this is a good choice. I spent all day outside and returned to my room to rest up, then I quickly went back outside (just in time for the night ceremony at Rushmore).

Besides the little issues I mentioned above, I would definitely choose to stay there again.

The place has a Pizza Restaurant inside.

If you have a AAA membership, they can offer you discounts!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumasoledad2001 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Don't let the outside of this Inn deceive you. It is true, there needs to be some repairs to the outside and the decor on the inside is a little dated. However, the rooms are large and immaculately clean. There was a refrigerator, coffee maker & hair dryer. The sink & vanity were located separately from the tub/shower & toilet. That is a plus for us. There was a flat screen tv with lots of channels and 2 easy chairs. The king size bed was comfy with plenty of pillows. There is a restaurant attached which is owned & operated separately. We did not eat there, so I cannot comment. It was an excellent value for the area and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I visited the hotel during the Labor Day weekend along with my family.We had booked a standard double room .At the time of booking it was specified that there will be a Microwave avalaible in the room but it was not there, and because i was travelling with an Infant it was a lot of problem for me without one. When we asked the lady at the reception she said that Microwaves are only with Superior rooms and did not entertain our query any further..So I would recommend the guests choosing Roosevelt inn to confirm everything before making a booking there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Asmi390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We clearly state in all of our marketing materials and on our web site that microwaves are only available in superior or better rooms. For guests in lower priced rooms we provide microwaves in the common areas. This guest may have been told by a third party that a microwave was in the room but not by anyone at the hotel and guests who book our least expensive rooms should not expect to have all of the amenities provided in the higher priced rooms. Nor should they demand that we install one or threaten to post a negative review on Trip Advisor if we do not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in single queen room. It was clean and comfortable. Refrigerator in room was convenient. The room was basic but I think adequate for our purposes. (You don't go on vacation to stay in your room, do you?) The location is excellent for visiting Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer SP, shopping and eating. The staff was very accommodating with our late, late arrival. Breakfast was good and warm. Standard fare for breakfast. A great bargain gem!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2039 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (June, July, August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing