We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've usually stayed in another hotel in Keystone but I'm so glad we found the Roosevelt Inn! The owners are great, super friendly and fun to talk to. Our room was perfect with a great balcony and a view up the "hill" towards Rushmore. The room was super quiet and we didn't hear a peep from an adjacent room or hallway noise. Everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was a surprise, in a good way. Hard boiled eggs, my preferred breakfast protein, and pastries, cereals, coffee and tea, French toast sticks and a few other things that I didn't expect. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I'll be staying there again. Very well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We greatly appreciate reviews by experienced travellers like yourself who take the time to offer expert opinions .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    102
    73
    30
    15
See reviews for
133
91
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent four nights here in July. The room was cleaned every day. The breakfast was average. If you park in the parking lot you will have to walk up or down some stairs because the entrance is between floors and the elevator is at the opposite end of the building. The location is close to shopping and restaurants so we were able to walk. We had problems connecting with the wifi and the owner wasn't interested in helping us out. Overall we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewerzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Roosevelt Inn for a week during the Sturgis Rally. The Inn was clean and bright, the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of parking and a great pizza place on site. They were able to accommodate our large group with no problem and the location was great for the local attractions and scenic rides, not to mention being almost in sight of Mt. Rushmore.

Room Tip: The rooms with a private balcony are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed on the third floor in a room with a balcony that faced the street. The room was clean and very comfortable, I cant say how the breakfast was we didn't eat it. I would like to say that some of the complaints I read on tripadvisor are way off base I think people expect every hotel to remodel there rooms once a year . I think for the price unless your a total snob this hotel is a very good value.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the street have the best view and the street noise isn't bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family of 5 stayed in a family suite in July of 2013. I picked this for the location but it was not a good value for the price we paid. The staff wasn't very welcoming or friendly. The room was dated. The beds were not very comfortable. It was the most expensive yet worse accommodations we had on our whole trip. Happy I only booked one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLB8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Although other reviewers disagree with this review's description of the Roosevelt Inn I would like to take this opportunity to make a general comment about room rates in markets like Keystone.

Without going into too much detail, it is sufficient to say that price observations are only valid for properties and businesses in the same specific market. Reviewers often comment regarding prices for all things in Keystone, (lodging, restaurants and attractions), without an understanding of the underlying reasons for these higher prices.

Amateur reviewers often fail to consider that Keystone is what is called a "seasonal market" and that fact, coupled with the fact that Keystone land values, taxes and operating expenses are high, means that hotel room rates and restaurant prices must be higher here than for those for businesses operating in lower-cost areas that also have year-round traffic.

An amateur reviewer might believe that a hotel in Keystone should have the same room rates as a property located 30 miles away near an interstate highway exit; whereas this is seldom the case because a property near the interstate highway has the advantages of year-round traffic and lower land and operating costs. Keystone which is located near Mt Rushmore and is surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest has very high land values and a short tourist season.

Anyone who might suggest that this is due to "price gouging" simply has no knowledge of the lodging business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

St. joseph mo.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here July 29-31 2013 for our 46 anniversary,we had a great time our room had a balcony that faced the Main Street,and enjoyed setting out there.Great pizza place downstairs,and some shoppes and eating places within walking distance,not far from the main area of Keystone and 2 miles from Mount Rushmore. The owners are very nice and they have a nice little breakfast in the morning,muffins,cereal,biscuits,gravy,coffee.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with private balcony facing the Main Street,if you get up early enough you get to meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatsandhides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo,Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was accommodating. The price was the best that night in town (we called at the last minute to find a room). Its close enough to walk to town for dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 14 in Keystone
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2039 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (June, July, August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing