We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The people at the front desk didn't seem very friendly - they acted like they didn't care we were even staying there but our overall experience was very good. The breakfast was very good and had a nice variety, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    192
    85
    63
    51
See reviews for
278
189
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Like the spacious room. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was good. Located on edge of Keystone close to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and the 1880s train. BTW our gps took us past the hotel, into town. We were confused. Person who checked us in said that happens all the time. So, in spite of what your gps says, believe your eyes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pleasant stay. Just 2 miles outside of Keystone. Really nice rustic looking interior. Quiet area. The pool looked inviting, but didn't have time to use. Very good included hot breakfast with many selections which is important to me. Good value overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a great place to stay if you were overnighting near Mount Rushmore. It was clean convinient and comfortable. I would stay again. The breakfast was adequat and the hotel was clean.. There was a indoor pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Park on the upper side to save a walk up the hill. A lower floor may be more convient for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the Best Western Four Presidents in Keystone, for almost a week and were pleased that we did. We used the motel as a very accessible
location for Rushmore and Crazy Horse, as well as Rapid City in the other
direction.

The room was basic bare bones, but clean and adequate for the rate, Free breakfast was plentiful and included a relatively wide range of offerings, although most had either high carb content or high fat content.

The motel offers a pleasant indoor pool and hot tub, with gym equipment as well as two computers for free guest use virtually 24 hours a day.

The desk staff was helpful in identifying good places to eat as well as mapping out the best routes to attractions we were interested in visiting.

They do not serve lunch or dinner, but are convenient to a very adequate restaurant within 1/4 of a mile down rhe road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at the BW in Keystone. It was convenient to everything. The room was spacious, the breakfast quite filling, the pool and hot tub very enjoyable after a long day of sightseeing. The staff was courteous and helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Initially we were only booked into this hotel for one night, but because of the Colorado floods we hastily had to change our plans. Thankfully there was availabilty and we stayed an extra two nights. The telephone booking clerk, ensured, that the two extra nights tied up with the first so we didn't have to change rooms.

Our room was spacious (2 large beds), very clean, quiet and comfortable. My only problem with the room is that I couldn't get the bath tub to fill - only able to use the shower, but I'm afraid to say I didn't report it as it wasn't a huge problem.

On our return, one afternoon, we couldn't get into our room with our card and we realised that the door was very slighty open. The staff member on reception duty was very attentive as we were rather concerned that the room may have been entered. Thankfully all was ok in the room. It was believed to be a problem with the door hinge.

Wifi & breakfast were complimentary, breakfast was pretty standard and I was disappointed the pancake machine wasn't working!

Overall though, this was a nice, good hotel. We liked the location close to Keystone (a very short drive away), and a very nice town too, and as we stayed for the unexpected extra 2 nights, we made the most of our change in travel plans, by adding a very relaxing enjoyable trip on the 1880 train, a visit to Crazy Horse Memorial (both not too far away) and a further drive out to Badlands National Park (in addition to our always planned visit to Mt Rushmore).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing