We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
506 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Clean rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We usually avoid Best Western like the plague. We picked this because of its proximity to Mount Rushmore. It was better then most. The room was a good size and clean. The rate was reasonable. There is a breakfast we passed on.not a bad spot if you are in the area.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    192
    85
    63
    46
See reviews for
276
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I got a Groupon for this hotel as my husband and I had talked about visiting Mt Rushmore for some time. I am so shocked at the cost of hotels in the area. Most are $175 - $200+ per night. However, we got this hotel for two nights at a 50% discount. The hotel is not much to look at from the outside but it's got a nice lodge feel lobby and the rooms were pretty up to date. The biggest thing lacking in the rooms, was a decent TV and cable. We had only 10 channels and only one network channel. No pay-per-view movies. However, on checking out, I had a lovely conversation with the front desk clerk (nice guy) and he said they were updating all of that during their down season. So it should be better next year. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Not too noisy, even being on the road. Unfortunately, the elevator was out but we dealt with it and they gave us a slight break for the inconvenience. The free breakfast was OK. They had scrambled eggs (soupy), bacon and all of the appropriate biscuits, gravy, cereal, danish, etc. The coffee was excellent. There is a nice indoor pool that was mostly unused. We had a really nice time and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were here for one night the night before Sturgis. At 2:00 we went to check in, and the man at the desk barked at us and wouldn't even take our name. "No check ins until 3:00." okay, we were taken aback. Checked in a few minutes before 3:00. Asked for a room in the back because of the bikers on the main road, but there were none. Loud road noise until all hours of the night. The room was clean, but nothing special. The downstairs public bathrooms were gross and dirty. Breakfast was good and there way plenty of it. Room was very very expensive, probably because of Sturgis. Left very early the next morning to beat the crowds to mount rushmore. Only the price was worthy of the "PLUS" rating. The elevator was jerky, so we tool the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everyone was very nice and friendly. Not a problem with anything. except for would of liked more tv stations but, understood that . Location was great for seeing the sites on rally week. Great parking for the bikes. Loved it. thanks guys. Hope to c you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It is only a 10 min drive to Mt Rushmore. There is also a small area with restaurants and shops right before you get to Mt Rushmore. They have a breakfast that had an assortment of cereals, pastries, bagels, breads, eggs, biscuits, & sausage. There is an indoor pool that my kids enjoyed. We stayed in room 200 and if you don't want to hear dogs barking you may want stay in another room. I'm guessing it is the owner/manager's apartment. There were two large dogs who are very cute, but did bark especially early in the morning & night. I like dogs, but don't want to get woken up by their barking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

All I knew was I wanted to see Mt. Rushmore but had no idea where to stay in the area. Once again the reviewers at Trip Advisor were spot-on! This is a beautiful, new property. It is entirely smoke-free (sorry smokers you have outside areas availble though). It provides upgraded bath amentities, in-room cofffee makers, a nice bathroom and great beds with a full pillow assortment for every preference. There is a complimentary breakfast with morning newspapers, too. There is a fitness club and an indoor pool,also. The location provides easy and quick access to Mt. Rushmore and other area highlights like the Crazy Horse Memorial, the Badlands, Black Hills National Park etc. You are literally minutes away from everything you came to South Dakota to see. When I booked this, all I wanted was clean and comfortable but got much more. Thanks to all who advised on this place. Add me to the fans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14stxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here a few nights during a road trip. Hotel o.k. Room and entry tired. Breakfast was enjoyable. Wi fi not particularly good here. Our room faced the main road, which was o.k. As not much traffic later on in the evening, and you had a better view on this side.

Restaurant nearest to hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisybell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing