We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushmore, miles away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Rushmore, miles away!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

By far the most disappointing Best Western on our travels to date! The location was our first disappointment as it was not as close to Rushmore as it made out to be. It was not even within walking distance to Keystone either so would not choose to come back here as there are hotels with much better locations! The hotel was very well decorated with a lovely reception area. The bedroom was very clean with plenty of towels and usual facilities but nothing special for the price paid. Shower in the bedroom was dreadful and the water pressure kept going away and as this was in a room for a disabled person a cause for concern at times! Very good complimentary breakfast. Only got about 10 minutes wifi access before being cut off. Overall the hotel failed to impress.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brut, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Margaret:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Yes, Mount Rushmore is miles away, exactly 5.5 miles. We offer the best, largest rooms this close to the Mt. Rushmore. Most guests love our location as you will see from the reviews below. If you want to be in the hustle/bustle of over-crowded Keystone, then feel free to book a room accordingly. We offer a very serene setting with gorgeous views of the Black Hills. I bought this hotel because it is not located
in downtown Keystone, but rather in a much more pleasing setting. Most guest describe the locations as peaceful.

I have investigated the other issues you have raised and they are being solved asap! Your input is valued as this helps us improve the guest experience.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    192
    85
    63
    51
See reviews for
278
189
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 5 nights here at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The staff was very cordial to us and our Chocolate Laborador Retriever. Ray (the manager) was extremely good to us and gave us good places to site see and good restaurants to go to. The cleaning staff did an excellent job in cleaning the rooms. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and close to Hill City which was some of the places we went to. The continental breakfast was great and even gave free chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again when we come and visit from Illinois.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor for easy access for the stairs for our dog to go right outside instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely property with Lodge type spacious lobby. We found it convenient
to Mt. Rushmore, restaurants, shopping, and Crazy Horse Memorial.
Friendly, helpful staff along with clean rooms made for a plesant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bknowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent two nights here last week. It was very nice and clean. The suite we were in was large enough for our family of 5, lots of space! Breakfast was good. Room was clean and quiet. The location was great. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyBelleOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel served breakfast daily and it's a good value for your money. Our room was very clean and the housekeepers did a great job everyday with cleaning the room. The hotel is about 5 miles from Mount Rushmore. This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmttravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very nice hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean and the other people staying in the hotel were very friendly as well. Great location seeing as it nice and close to Mt. Rushmore. Very pretty setting as well right in with the mountains. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Bacon was perfect, biscuits and gravy were delicious!
I suggest bringing some board games to play when you are back in your room, because you only get a few channels on the television, and the internet connection is spoty. So don't expect to get much work done if you need the inter-webs, but you shouldn't have to do work/school work while on vacation. Enjoy yourself and take in the beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife stayed during our recent trip to the Black Hills. Our stay was PERFECT! The staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the pool, yes everything was just what you would expect to find while on vacation. Wildlife everywhere! Our room was on the back side of the building and faced a hillside. Our first morning we were greeted by 7 deer eating on the hill just out our window. The next morning there were turkey.

My wife noticed when the owner checked us in, he had the same cap on as I did! This is an official DisneyWorld cap that you can only get from.....Disneyland of course! Same color, same everything. Who would ever have imagined?

There is a very nice restaurant right next door that has "to die for" ribs. Had a nice relaxing quiet dinner with my wife, even a glass of wine!

The only thing that could have made our stay any better, would be if we could have made our stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewalkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing