We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location and room.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent two nights at the BW Four Presidents Lodge. The room was cleaner than the Hilton Garden Inn we had stayed the night before. Loved the location just outside of Keystone. An easy drive to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse and Custer National Park. Also enjoyed the Prairie Berry Winery nearby. We left the hotel a day early and were not charged any additional fee for this. We left my husband's tripod in the drawer and did not miss it until the hotel called to tell us two days later. Not sure if someone that used the room turned it in or if the people that clean the rooms found it. But, we were grateful for their honesty. The hotel mailed it to our home address. I would recommend the hotel highly and also the restaurant next door was easy to walk to and have ribs both nights we were there. Didn't get to use the breakfast buffet since we left early both mornings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeBabeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    193
    85
    63
    55
See reviews for
281
191
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here. Staff were excellent. Hot breakfast was great. We had a room on the backside and we saw deer and wild turkeys walking right by our window. Good quiet location but close to all attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluelady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here on the first leg of our cross country road trip. We checked in late after the lighting ceremony inside the park and found the staff accomodating and helpful. The room was clean, large and had big beautiful beds. We stayed in several higher end hotels after this -- no bed or breakfast was better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefchellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

On a recent visit to Mount Rushmore we stayed two nights at this hotel and the warm welcome more than compensated for the not so good weather. Although the hotel is situated a short distance out of Keystone, it proved an excellent location with easy parking and two good eating establishments next door.
The rooms were very comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and fitness room.
The reception staff were excellent, giving regular weather updates and advice on the local visitor attractions. They also provided good coffee and cookies in the Lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraserrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

WE actually had reservations for another hotel in Hill City; Thankfully, that hotel was unacceptable (many reasons) and we found ourselves staying at the Four Presidents just outside of Keystone.

The front desk personnel were always very friendly and helpful; especially in pointing out the local attractions and the best routes to take if you're wanting to do a scenic drive. The continental breakfast was fantastic (at least for the 3 nights we stayed). There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a fantastic little place within walking distance that serves up some great tasting ribs. The rooms were very clean and the indoor pool and hot tub were very nice and a good way to end the day. This hotel was just outside of Keystone, but centrally located to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear Country, Reptile Gardens and many of the other tourism sites one might want to visit. For us, it was a very relaxing place to stay and we had a great time. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely stay here again. I can not tell you about any internet service (Wi-Fi), cell phone reception, etc... ... when we go on vacation, it is for fun, to relax, and get "away" for a while; working and having a phone plastered to our ear is never a part of our vacation plans. Great relaxing stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband & I stayed here at the end of May. The rates were reasonable & the breakfast was great. Check in was fast & the hotel is just a short drive to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave & Keystone is the cutest little town. This was our first trip to South Dakota & we loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Ask fir discounts for AARP & AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancichrisUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel was nice enough but extremely overpriced. You can stay at a nicer property for about $60 less a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inocense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing