We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lots of cabins, old west feel”
Review of Holy Smoke Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holy Smoke Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Dani and Jean were terrific! Excellent, friendly service and great food in the restaurant (ribs are a specialty). We were with a large group and they were superb in taking care of all of us. The resort is centrally located to a many excellent sites - Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, caves... You can rent one of their many cabins or RV sites. Great weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Holy Smoke Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 174 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Over the years we've passed through Keystone, South Dakota but we never had the time to stop and enjoy the beautiful Black Hills until this past weekend. We had the pleasure of staying at the Holy Smoke Resort and not only enjoyed the accommodations but our dining experience is one we won't forget. Upon entering the Restraunt we were immediately greeted and made to feel welcome and it did nothing but get better. The wait staff was very prompt and attentative and the food was better than one could hope for. We ordered the Rib dinners and they were better than "Finger Licking Good". Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable and we look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Cabins are cozy and comfy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We are older midwesterners and love anywhere with a truly Western flavor . This place ROCKS ! We stayed in the Historic #7 cabin and loved it , a walk back in time with modern amenities . Quiet , peaceful , clean , well maintained , courteous - helpful - friendly - staff , very affordable , close to scenic sights and destinations , off the beaten path but easily accessible and private , and the on-location restaurant menu variety and food was very good . And YES , we GOT the sign by the check-in and restaurant and enjoyed it : No : Valet parking , Concierge service , Limo service , Personal Delicate Maid service , or Bellhop service ; so suck it up , be at your best , and enjoy the awesome wonders of nature and the Black Hills and your stay there . It is true value for your money and expectations - go there !

Room Tip: Bring your own favorite bath soap , coffee and coffee maker . True of all lodging anywhere .
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichBev04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the first stop on our driving tour of the upper midwest. I booked historic 'cabin #7' based on the website description. Very nice! The off-season rate made it a great value. It was authentic and well-appointed with a comfy bed, two lounge chairs & seating area and a very nice updated bathroom. The owners were more than willing to handle our late arrival. We were situated almost near the top of the hill and away from any traffic noise. Nicely situated only 1.5 miles from downtown Keystone with its touristy atmosphere & less than 4 miles from Mt Rushmore itself. I was in heaven because I was able to run into town and all the way up the hill to Mt Rushmore (and back!). No time for hardcore hiking, but on the second day I found an old mine road nearby that went for a few miles into the Black Hills. Holy Smoke was a much better choice than some of the newer places near town that are literally hacked out of a mountainside for the sake of a "view". It was a very relaxing 2-day stay. Also, it was the last day of the season for the restaurant and I must say the ribs were spectacular! Even the house wine selection was a pleasant surprise. Overall a well-kept property with pleasant owners that offers a true feel of what the 'glory days' of the Black Hills might have been like.

Room Tip: All the cabins look nice but we have a soft spot for history, so we chose #7.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I cannot say enough about our experience at Holy Smoke. The cabins were terrific. We came to fulfill a dream for my brother-in-law who has cancer. The owners listened to our needs and help me select the best cabins for us. We rented the duplex cabin which was just right for privacy yet we were close. The rooms were very clean and all staff very efficient. The cabins were close enough for easy access but far enough from the road to not hear noise. We were there the 2nd week of September. Had great weather. The restaurant served great steaks and ribs. It is very close to all the attractions and a good base to travel on day trips. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners. They are great to help you select the right cabin. The duplex worked great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice rustic atmosphere. Owner was nice and very accommodating, especially with our late arrival. The view of the stars was spectacular. The cabin was very clean and nice. Location is fantastic because it is so close to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer National Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the newest cabins on the upper most tier. Best view from there.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a week in one of your cabins. A very nice setting. Room was clean and service was friendly. The cabin was clean and adequately supplied with incidentals. Internet service was very good and we had great weather. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.0 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
5.0 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holy Smoke Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Smoke Resort

Address: 24105 Highway 16a, Older Gps Is Misleading, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holy Smoke Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holy Smoke Resort offers 27 fully modern log cabins, Cabins can accommodate from 2 to 12 people as they are of different sizes. Some are pet friendly and some have fully equipped kitchens. Our Vacation rentals are fully equipped and one has a game room with a pool table and sleeps up to 12. All cabins have bathroom with shower, AC/Heat, refrig., Microwave, coffee, TV and WiFi. Bedding and towels are provided as well. Daily housekeeping is provided in all units except the vacation rentals. We have a 21 site RV Park. All pull-thru sites with TV, WiFi and full hook up Which includes sewer. Sites are long pull-thrus designed for the larger rigs, all have 30/50 amp. Electric. No public showers or public restrooms in the RV Park. The park is for fully self contained RV units having their own bathroom facilities. We offer trail rides from Memorial weekend to Labor Day conditions permitting. Our staff will gladly help you plan activities and places of interest to fit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holy Smoke Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Smoke Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing