We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to Stay when Visiting Mt Rushmore”
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The K Bar S Lodge is a Choice Hotel property and located in Keystone and a short distance from Mt Rushmore. It is situated in a quite mountain setting a short distance away from the main street of Keystone. The property consists of a main lodge building, four 2 story buildings with hotel rooms, a separate building where the complimentary breakfast is served and a large building for special events. The majority of the guest rooms have 2 queen beds, however, there are 2 rooms with a king bed. Recommend a balcony room in the main lodge and preferably room 1219 with the king bed on the second floor. If rooms are not available in the main building then recommend a room on the second floor of building 1 which can be entered directly from the parking lot level in front of the main lodge. Also, try to get a room in the middle of the hall away from the entrance doors. All of the balcony rooms have a great view including a distant profile view of George Washington. Hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The complementary breakfast is good and is served in a large glass enclosed room with a great view. I would definitely stay here the next time I visit the area.

Room Tip: Balcony room in main lodge or 2nd floor in building 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aggie55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 963 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way out of Mount Rushmore and it was more than expected. The Lodge is very charming and has a beautiful view of the Black Hills, an inviting balcony area, outdoor space and indoor sitting area that feels like your own luxury log cabin with complimentary coffee and tea all night. Additionally, they have commentary laundry services for patrons which we appreciated since we had been road tripping from the east coast. The staff was informed and helpful and the rooms were clean and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth_T855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

So other than having no WIFI in the rooms the hotel is lovely. Breakfast is included and plenty for us. We had a room looking out over the mountains and we could clearly see Mount Rushmore. Stunning setting and stunning hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PDHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I liked the K Bar but, for $330 a night there's a few things they could improve upon. the location is excellent - I could actuall see George Washington's face from my balcony. When we checked in, I asked for restaurant reccomendations - but they didn't offer to make a reservation for us. When asked id we could get some extra towels they said, yes but, we had to go to the front desk to retrieve them. Nice atmosphere - decent size rooms. Free laundry is a plus. Breakfast wasn't particularly strong

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle O, General Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Hello Steve W,

Thank you staying with us, and for filling out a review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay fell short of anything but the best experience possible. It is always our goal to make everything as easy and enjoyable for our guests as possible. I hope that you are able to stay with us again, so that we have another opportunity to show you the true service that everyone of our guests deserves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Was nice to be able to get glances of Mt Rushmore from lovely grounds here. Nice staff to greet us. Very close to Mt Rushmore for easy drive to evening program there. Breakfast adequate. Room adequate. Small refrig but no microwave. Our room had ok wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Comfortable room with view of George Washington in profile.
Major drawback - no restaurant for independent travellers. We envied the bus parties who were obviously being catered for.
Trying to find somewhere decent to eat in Keystone seemed problematic and there was nowhere you could buy food to eat in your room. In fact we drove all the way to a supermarket in Rapid City to find stuff to eat and even that wasn't very exciting. Breakfast was not great either. Everything plastic and disposable and it was noisy and the dining room was too hot in the morning sun.
A restaurant would make all the difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle O, General Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Hello worldtraveller112,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay fell short of anything but an excellent experience. You are correct that we do not have a restaurant here on site, however we do have menus for several of the restaurants in town at the front desk, and are happy to make good recommendations. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's a quaint and cozy place. We liked the rooms, the romantic fire pit setting and the breakfast menus. Seeing the side of Mount Rushmore made it even more special.
The internet connection is week and can be only used in the lobby though (minor detail but can make a difference)

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of Rushmore or by the fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank primnpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2027
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $76 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — K Bar S Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing