We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We had a balcony room with a view of the profile of Mt. Rushmore. The whole property is well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are several common areas where guest gather and gives it a real home feeling. The breakfast is great. The price was very reasonable. Will definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Liked — Great breakfast, friendly staff, free laundry, clean rooms, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Louisianahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    225
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
327
337
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed at the K Bar S while on an Elderhostel experience. Our room was roomy and attractive with all the amenities. While it was not one of the view rooms, we had only to step out to one of the many decks to have a side view of George Washington at Mt. Rushmore. The grounds were extensive and lovely, and we were able to take walks around them and on into town. Breakfasts were included and were good. There was no pool, which was not a problem for us, but might be for people with families. We would go there again on our own.

  • Liked — The location and scenery.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north country, nh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Great place! This is a hidden gem in the tourist town of Keystone! It is just off the main road yet you feel miles away. The rooms are clean and cozy...great fews of Mount Rushmore and roaming wild turkey. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The price was excellent too and it included breakfast. It was a great base for us as we travelled around to the Bandlands, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse and even as far west as Devil's Tower in Wyoming One of our best finds...we hate to share as others will find this place and they may get too busy.

  • Liked — location and quiet grounds
  • Disliked — can't think of one
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nhnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Was here for a business trip. Close to everything. You can see Mount Rushmore out your window. Very beautiful and secluded.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank GoBigRed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Sooo quiet and peaceful. The room had a balcony with great chairs and a partial view of rushmore. Wonderful scenery and great short hikes to view the true wilderness. Great selection of TV channels and a comfy leather chair in the room.
Some things that weren't so great: No refrigerator, the tap water is poor quality - smells bad. The ice machines are only on the 2nd floor. The soda machine was completely empty. The breakfast is very nice, however the lady serving the food "the breakfast nazi" was all stingy with the food and got irritated when people asked for larger servings. One lady asked for ice and she refused because she couldn't leave her station - very unclassy person for such a classy lodge.

  • Liked — location, natural beauty
  • Disliked — no refrigerator, empty vending machines
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2008

This is a beautiful resort with clean rooms and great views of Mount Rushmore. The room that we stayed in faced Mount Rushmore, we enjoyed the views from our balcony. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff was very helpful every morning. We ate breakfast out on the deck. It was wonderful. It was very peaceful being out of Keystone. You could be in town in less that two minutes.

  • Liked — very peaceful and quiet
  • Disliked — you had to go outside to go to the front desk and breakfast across the parking lot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We originally had a reservation for a room at the rate of $169 per night. When we arrived in the area we needed to add an additional room and the quoted rate was $129 per night ($40 cheaper for the same room). Naturally, we asked to have the other room rate adjusted from $169 to $129 which caused the desk clerk to get very upset. She immediately became insulting with her manner and tone and said "..why would you even ask that?" and said that we could not get the rate adjusted because we didn't call 7 days prior to our stay. When we arrived at the hotel and she recognized our name she again became difficult.

At the end of our stay we asked for a comment card and the manager simply said that they are not a chain and that the 7 day policy is needed because they feel the impact of this type of thing more than if they were a chain. He also said that it's hard to get good help from the younger people and this isn't the first time that she (Mary) had been complained about. It was clear that there will be no follow-up.

We would never stay at this hotel again and it unfortunately had a negative impact to what was otherwise a wonderful trip to Keystone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfbokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.6 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
7.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Property: K Bar S Lodge
Address: 434 Old Hill City Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — K Bar S Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing