We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Not only was the hotel nothing like the description, the staff was completely inept. It was one disappointment after another. They did not charge me the price I was quoted over the phone, and then had the gall to double charge me. Aaagghhhh - the worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whatchawantColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 611 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2007

This was a very nice hotel and with a few minor changes, it would be great.

Positives:
-Third floor suites - these were very nice rooms. Two TV's. A small sitting area. A balcony with a view of either Mt Rushmore or the Black Hills. Very clean and must be brand new. Also, if your there in the cooler months, there is a gas fireplace.
-Pool area - quite nice. Adequate size & depth and had a decent hot tub
-Location - we walked from the hotel to shops, mini golf, restaurants, etc. However, it is a fairly steep hike back up the driveway to the hotel, so if you don't like to walk or have very young children that could be inconvenient.

Improvements needed:
-On the first day I told the hotel staff our refridgerator was not working. They told me it was probably unplugged. I checked and it was plugged in. This was never replaced, fixed. We wanted a refridgerator for our extended stay, but just continued to restock our cooler with ice to keep our beverages, snacks cold.
-No coffee maker in room. Complimentary coffee was provided in the lobby, but you had to take your carafe from your room and go fill it in the morning. Often times the cleaning staff did not even clean out the carafe for the next days use.
-No complimentary breakfast and the discount coupons provided for area restaurants were not good restaurants. I guess for $200 a night, I would think they could provide a small continental breakfast.
-Shampoo not provided. We had brought some, just in case, but once again for a $200 a night hotel, I thought this was odd.

I have recommended this hotel to others as the positives out weigh the negatives, but I do let them know about the few shortcomings.

Take binoculars to watch the night time lighting ceremony of Mount Rushmore from your balcony if you are staying on that side of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank HawkItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We picked this hotel for it's vantage point and possible views. We had been to see Mount Rushmore and was very disappointed with this but decided to stay in Keystone before travelling on.The hotel is high up on a cliff overlooking the town and we thought we would have some good views.Wewere disappointed with the room, it was clean but had no other facilities like coffee maker or anything else.You could get free coffee in the reception but this was quite niosy being close to the indoor pool which was full of noisy children.At nearly $90 a night with no breakfast we thought this was not good. We walked into the town for dinner which was difficult as there isn't any safe paths to come down from the hotel you had to use the road which was quite busy.We were disappointed with the restaurants in town and for breakfast we found a buffet which was really horrible and we couldn't wait to get away from this town quick enough.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scenic-Tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

[--]

This is a good hotel overall. I would definitely recommend it.

Pros: Location. Keystone is a touristy city with very little parking so if you don't mind a walk down the long driveway, stroll into Keystone and leave your car parked at the hotel. They have a pool (looked nice, although I didn't use it). Third-floor suites looked really nice - didn't see inside of rooms but balconies were impressive. Parking on third floor was convenient even though we stayed on second floor. Rooms are quiet.

Cons: Standard rooms are small and only include cheap soap - don't include shampoo/conditioner. Hotel is "okay" ... could be a lot nicer with a few up-grades - but is perfectly good for a family stay while at Mt. Rushmore. Upon check-in we were given keys and wrong room number - small mix-up but rather unprofessional.

note: you can see Mt. Rushmore from the parking lot but it is very small and in the distance so definitely plan on making the drive to the park.

7  Thank bisongirl701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grandma2007Ste_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore

Address: 106 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57702 (Formerly Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $90 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Presidents View Hotel Keystone
Presidents View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing